JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Chris B.

Nanny in Lorton, VA 22079.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Lorton, VA

  • Age 54
  • 15 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Today

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Chris’s Bio

Hello,
I'm currently a morning preschool teacher of 3s turning 4 at St. Christopher's Episcopal Preschool in Springfield, which is only during the school year. I'm just finishing my 14th year of preschool and elementary teaching. I hold a degree in Early and Middle Childhood Education from The Ohio State University.
As a mom of adult and nearly-adult children (27, 25 and 17) and grandma of one sweet little girl, my experience is both personal and professional. I regularly babysat while homeschooling two of my 3 children (one for early elementary and one for high school). I took a few years off to walk dogs, and ended up going back to preschool, subsequently becoming a weekly babysitter for my former dog-walking-boss' one year old daughter.
I tend to stay with client families for several years, and have enjoyed keeping in touch with them. References are available upon request.

I'm a pretty laid-back and positive person, and I have been told I'm gentle and kind. Getting down on the floor and playing with littles is a joy to me; I feel much of life for littles can be quite rushed today, and I strongly believe in long play times, getting outside in nature, and routines that are flexible but provide security. Professionally, in my preschool teaching, I borrow from Reggio Emilia Inspired work and Montessori; I bring bits of those philosophies to my work as a babysitter and "nanny." I am always willing to help parents by sharing knowledge of child development stages, but am respectful of their abilities to parent their own children; I believe parents are their children's first and best teachers, and I am there to make life easier for everyone.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

15 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

2 to 3 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Occasional care

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 8/4/17

  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
Jump to Top
Chris B.
Chris B.
Lorton, VA 22079
54

years
of age

15

years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now