JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Amanda J.

Nanny in Midlothian, VA 23112.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Midlothian, VA

  • Age 27
  • 13 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $350-$550 per week

Amanda’s Bio

I just completed my third year at George Mason University, working to get my degree in Criminology. I love teaching and I love kids. I've been sitting since I was 10 (about 11 years!), and, although I've held other jobs, I always come back to sitting and nannying.I have provided care consistantly for one family for about 6 years, they have a set of fraternal twins (a girl and a boy) and an older boy and two cats.  I've been sitting for them for so long that now their kids "grown up" middle and high schoolers and don't need a sitter anymore. I've sat children of all ages, from infants to older middle schoolers and I'm comfortable with all ages.
I am the oldest of three, with a younger brother and sister. We've had numerous cats, dogs, birds, fish, and every other creature imagineable and currently have a one year old beagle named Ameila. I love the home arts such as cooking and sewing as well as the performing arts - I dance, sing, and act.  I hope to recieve my undergraduate in 2012 and get my masters and P.H.D. at Mary Baldwin College.
One game the kids I sit absolutely LOVE playing is what they have dubbed "dark tag." Which is essentially, hide and seek with the lights off.  It's always a huge hit with kids who are old enough and not afraid of the dark! My personal philosophy with sitting is to make sure that they're being creative and having fun. Every day is an opportunity to learn something new, and I like to make sure to seize every opportunity to discover - as long as we're obeying the rules!


Age Specific Experience

13 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Overnight care
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider


My availability is valid through 8/9/12

  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • French

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • French


Renee W. is a reference for Amanda J. Relationship: Former Employer
Grace H. is a reference for Amanda J. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Amanda J.
Amanda J.
Midlothian, VA 23112

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $350-$550 per week

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now