Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Helena, AL 35080

Meet Jo Ann

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello, My name is Jo Ann Korona. My husband and I recently moved here from California to be closer to our 2 grown children and our only grandchild, Ava, who will be 9 end of next month :) So far we love living here; our neighbors and people in general have been very nice. I am a retired elementary school teacher & have taught Kinder in the public & private sector. I have volunteered as a nursery care worker in my church where I loved watching infant & young toddlers. I recently left my job as a Detentions Information Assistant for the San Diego Sheriff's Department. You're probably wondering what all those jobs have in common? Well, more than one would suppose! First, all these jobs require a rigorous background check. Only 3% approx. of job applicants pass the entire check for the Sheriff's Department. They examine EVERYTHING, from your Read more past jobs, your personal references, your residences, your finances, they interview your neighbors and of course, check for any criminal backgrounds/drugs, etc. All the jobs also require livescan (fingerprints). All the above jobs as well need a large dose of patience too! When I worked with the public at the jail in the next city, the public included many inmate's friends & families, not to mention the people just being released from the facility. many of these people were drunk or under-the-influence, so you can imagine how it would be to try to help them. There's not too much difference speaking to the public who don't have all their faculties than speaking with a 5 year old! Directions and instructions must be given in clear simple to understand words. I loved all these jobs, simply because I love helping people. I received many cards and an award for my previous work. I'm dependable, punctual, friendly, clean and a hard working person. I would be honored to help take care of your son! Thank you for taking the time to read my resume. I hope I'll be able to speak with you soon. Jo Ann Korona

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 07/29/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available mornings
  • Before school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Jo Ann doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 1 child per sitting

$10-$15/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Autism
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Premature Newborn
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Respiratory Care

Education

Liberal Studies - Special Project English

Graduated California State University - San Marcos 2002

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Jo Ann's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now