Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Age 39
  • Babysitter in Phoenix, AZ 85031

Meet Ruth

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am 39 years old. I always wanted to be a teacher then continue studying to be a child psychologist but due to financial issues I was unable to continue my schooling. I was only able complete a few semesters at Phoenix community college. While I was attending college, I was an assistant kindergarten teacher. After I left college, I have taken care of my friends kids. I took care of a 6 week old baby boy till he was 2 years old. I have taken care of kids as old as 12 years old. I dealt with large groups of kids in classroom settings. I don't have kids of my own nor do I have siblings. But I have always been drawn to take care of kids. I can provide references. I am available to take care of your kids in your home any time including overnights. I have Read more transportation and can drive your kids around. I charge depending on how many hours you need me. As low as $7 an hour for 10 or more hours or we come up with a flat fee for overnights. Last job I had, I took kids to different places to keep them entertained. Like Az science center (tickets available through library culture pass) castles and coasters, museums, library, and movies. I love playing card and board games. I enjoy making crafts and make jewelry. I am fluent in Spanish. I can help with housework and am an excellent cook. I love pets of all types. I know how to swim and can teach your child.I have a level one fingerprint clearance card good through February 25th 2025. I had gastric bypass surgery at the end of December so I could be more active and healthy. I am continually able to do more things and have a lot of energy. I just love kids and was never able to have any of my own. So I treasure kids so much. Thank you for considering me.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/4/19

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Cheryl R.

6/27/2019

Both of my children (12yrs & 7yrs old) and I love Ruth! She continues to prove to be very dependable and trustworthy. She is creative with projects/crafts. She interacts well with both age groups simultaneously. She took my kids to Coasters & Castles but first scoped out best package price / time slot. Finds it easy to make budget friendly (sometimes even free) outings the kids enjoy rather than them setting in the house. She has as much if not more energy than the kids & keeps them active. She is an amazing cook, takes special care to encourage healthy eating habits by cooking and offering kids better snack choices. I do not have full time need for childcare and she is so kind to take my schedule as it changes weekly. I know my part time needs are not feasible for a full income so I hope to share my continued experience with her to help other parents/kids to have access to her unique childcare.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$7-$15/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Attended

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Ruth's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now