JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 51
  • Babysitter in Lakeside, CA 92040

Meet Sarah

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello. My name is Sarah. I am a mother to two grown boys, ages 20 and 22. I was a stay at home mom and put a lot of effort and energy into my kids, loved spending time and doing activities with them. I believe it is important for kids to experience the outdoors and stay active, to explore their talents and interests. We are very fortunate that there is so much of that available here in southern California. I myself have an Associates Degree in Science, with honors, from 2016. I went back to finish school after my kids were raised, but am still a stay at home mom for now. I am interested in spending time caring for children a few hours a week to stay busy. I love kids and really miss being around them, in general. I grew up as the eldest of six children, always Read more taking care of the younger ones, babysitting, housework, typical eldest child duties, especially as my mother had chronic health issues. I also was the neighborhood babysitter from the age of 11, and also for people from our church. I taught Sunday school classes from toddlers to kindergarten, off and on from ages 15 to 23. One of my children has special needs - high functioning autism, and the other has ADHD and TBI, so I am also used to children that are not neurotypical. I also have a cousin with Down's Syndrome who is near and dear to my heart. I enjoy cooking, taking care of details around the house, am attentive, but can also be playful and fun when there are kids around. I appreciate all parenting styles and respect the wishes of each parent as far as the limits they have for their own kids. Children are a gift, not a possession, and I believe they need to feel safe, cared for, and respected, while still knowing someone is going to guide them when they need it. I also seem to have talent for helping them get along if things get difficult. I am a great teacher and also appreciate the arts; creativity is a great outlet and also just plain fun. I am also trained in CPR and basic first aid. Safety is always important and I know that it is especially important to parents when they are away from their children, to know that they are in capable hands and with someone who is prepared for the unexpected and can stay calm in a crisis. I have an excellent driving record and insurance, a working car, no criminal record or arrests or other such trouble, no drug or alcohol abuse history, don't smoke, etc. Driving record available on request.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Sarah doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$18/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
    • Delayed Speech
    • Down Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Pervasive Development Disorder
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Insulin Injections
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Science and Quantitative Reasoning

Attended Grossmont College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Sarah's profile

Report

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "www.ccld.ca.gov".

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now