Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Age 40
  • Babysitter in Los Angeles, CA 90004

Meet Kristy

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Teaching and working with children has always been a passion for me.  Aside from wanting to be a Solid Gold dancer many, many moons ago, I always knew I wanted to become someone involved in bettering the minds and lives of children.  Becoming a teacher seemed to be the answer for me.   I graduated from the University of California, Santa Barbara with a B.A. in Sociology in 2002.  Upon returning home to Los Angeles, I accepted an assistant teaching position for Loyola Marymount University’s Children’s Center and worked there for over a year with infants and toddlers.  Despite previously working with children for 2 years before LMU, it was there I discovered the importance of play and how early learning could mold the minds of young ones.  Before moving to Washington DC in September 2004, I was an Early Interventionist, working with at-risk and developmentally delayed children.  Rather than accepting Read more a promotion with the company after only three months of working there, I accepted the job offer at Georgetown University’s children center, Hoya Kids for their toddler teacher position.  For three years, I have enjoyed every opportunity I had been given to be a part of each individual child’s life and to have had the privilege to see them grow into unique little beings.  To be able to help each individual child reach their potential in all developmental levels and seeing them grow is something I feel privileged to be a part of.  I look forward to  being there to witness the many milestones your child will reach. Fun facts about me:  I am family oriented and am a proud auntie!!  I crave Chipotle about 325 days of the year.  I like shopping and love finding out I get 40% additional off the sale price when I hit the register.  I won an egg in a parachute contest during the 8th grade.  Once in a while I Google myself to see what comes up.  I am a neat freak. I used to collect baseball and basketball cards (the last I ever bought were 2 Grant Hill rookie cards).  I once had 2 turtles named Ernie and Bert, but Ernie passed due to starvation because he moved too slow and Bert ate all the food.  I've started to wear girly clothes again.  I believe a person's shoes say a lot about them.  I like to LOL as much as I can.  I cook a mean jambalaya. When I have time, I lose myself in movies, books or music.  I love the arts and music.   I go off on rambling tangents about myself before saying, "Oh, enough about me... "

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings and afternoons
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 10/19/17

Ratings & reviews

Kristy doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Autism

Education

Marriage & Family Therapy

Graduated University of Phoenix - Gardena

References

Additional services

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

Share Kristy's profile

Report

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "www.cdss.ca.gov".

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now