Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Los Angeles, CA 90004

Meet Ruth

  • Early Childhood Special Education Certification
  • Speaks English and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

For as long as I can remember I’ve always had a interest for children and child development. At the young age of 16 I began baby sitting and experiencing nanny work, from the start I fell in love with it. Being able to help a child grow and be the one responsible for their well being is such a rewarding job. After highschool and two years of infant and toddler care I began taking college classes for child psychology and now have enough credits and experience that I was hired as a preschool/ kindergarten teacher. I kept going up ages, and experiencing every fundamental age milstones— from infant age up to elementary aged. Overall I've learned how to educate, engage, play, teach, and delicately look after children. I also have CPR And first aid certification as well as quick thinking for piece of mind. Thank you for taking the time Read more to learn about me!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 08/31/2018

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 09/01/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/30/21

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

3

0

0

0

0

Maxine D.

10/12/2021

Our family loves Ruth! She is smart, professional, and so great with kids. She has lots of experience with toddlers which is what we were looking for. Our daughter is 3 and instantly connected with Ruth, which is not always the case with new nannies. We hope to work with her for a long time.

Theodora W.

10/10/2018

Ruth is amazing!!! She helped us for an entire day on very short notice when we unexpectedly didn't have any to watch our 2-year old. She was very responsive and professional with all our interactions. She arrived early the day of to make sure she knew where everything was and what our son's routines were. Our son usually takes a while to warm up to people, but warmed up to Ruth right away. She did all kinds of different fun developmentally-appropriate activities all day with our son and sent us several pictures and videos. She is a genuinely kind, caring, attentive, and trustworthy person. I wish we had a need for her more often!!!

Jason M.

5/24/2018

My first reaction meeting Ruth was, "Thank goodness, a normal human." My second reaction was, "She's not just normal...she's awesome." We've had Ruth in our home about 4 times now. I really appreciate her knowledge of the various parenting techniques. She's great at setting guidelines for our boy while keeping it fun. She's very patient, interactive, and kind.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$50/hr for the first child, $10 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Cancer
    • Bathing
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Repositioning

Education

Infant/childhood psychology & development

Currently attending University of California - Berkeley

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Ruth's profile

Report

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "www.cdss.ca.gov".

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now