Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Los Angeles, CA 90018

Meet Maria

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have ten years of experience as a nanny and babysitter. For date-night and casual babysitting I come prepared with bubbles, books, small puzzles, temporary tattoos, etc., but I'm equally down for a chill pizza and movie night or some homework help. POLICIES: I have a dog and am very comfortable with pets, but I am allergic to cats, so I appreciate a heads up if there are cats in the household so I can take the necessary allergy medication. I require a 4-hour minimum, unless otherwise agreed upon ahead of time. I am a firm believer in respect for children. I love creating a space where infants and toddlers can safely explore, grow, and learn about their world. I also love following along with older kids' adventures, learning with them, and helping them learn whatever it is they want to learn. I believe in gentle care with strong boundaries. Read more I am heavily influenced by RIE and Montessori, and always willing to learn about new care-taking philosophies. I've studied child development and worked on activities to stimulate math, reading, and motor skills in the children at the Pierce College Daycare Center, and I've volunteered with School On Wheels tutoring homeless children.   I have a dog and am very comfortable with pets.   I believe in patience, unconditional love, and teaching by example. In school I worked on projects developing fun activities to foster children's verbal, math, and motor skills through play.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 3/31/20

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

6

0

0

0

0

Sara L.

9/27/2021

Kevin E.

3/9/2020

Maria is wonderful!

Kacy M.

3/7/2020

Maria was a kind and thoughtful caregiver to our infant son. I could see immediate that she had great expertise with the RIE approach to childcare. She fostered learning and play that helped him explore in a safe, supportive environment. Highly recommended to a family looking for a a skillful, trustworthy sitter or nanny.

Kevin E.

2/10/2020

Lauren C.

1/31/2020

Maria has done some babysitting for us in the past. Our daughter always enjoyed their time together. I would definitely recommend Maria.

Sara L.

1/20/2020

Maria is the best! My daughter loves her! She has been caring for my daughter for 2.5 years now from ages 15 months to almost 4 years old. Maria is completely reliable, responsible, punctual, and trustworthy. She is engaging and truly enjoys being with children, and connects with them. Maria has the ideal combination of years of experience and youthful energy. She knows how to hold boundaries firmly and empathetically, and hold and respond to kids’ big feelings. She respects kids as well as having fun with them. She has experience as an infant nanny, caring for siblings, and babysitting for play dates. I have taken a lot parent-child classes, done tons of reading and research.... and Maria responds so beautifully to children. I am very proud to be a reference for her!

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$24-$30/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

English

University of California - Los Angeles

References

Additional services

  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Maria's profile

Report

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "www.cdss.ca.gov".

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now