Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 16 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Oakland, CA 94618

Meet Kailyn

  • Speaks English and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I've been nannying and watching children since I was in high school, continuing through undergraduate and afterward. I've been in New Orleans three years, and have just completed my MFA in Fiction writing and UNO. Throughout high school, I sat for a pair of siblings, a three year old girl and her five year old brother, and a single girl, age three to seven. I moved to Portland for college, where I nannied primarily for two different families, one with two infant twins and their three year old sister. I was with them for a year, before pursuing a career in technical theater. During the off seasons (summer), I nannied for a family with a pair of twins, one boy and one girl, ages ten months to fifteen months during my time with them. A year and a half ago, I moved from Portland Alaska, to follow my fiancé in Read more his teaching career. We lived in a small village in the Yukon Kuskokwim Delta, and while I wrote for much of that year, I also substitute taught ages K-12, primarily focusing on fourth grade. Staring in winter, I planned and taught a fourth grade class for the Spring semester. Learning more about childhood development, education styles, and behavioral management strengthened my desire to work with young people. I would be excited to bring this experience to your child(dren)! While I'm not available for full-time commitments (I currently work as a freelance sound engineer), I am flexible, and often available for long stretches/interim regular sitting. I love watching kids figure out the world around them, and getting to help them with the little moments as they learn and grow. It's amazing, the perspectives that children can have, and how very much of the time they are, simply, fun people to be around. You can give my hobbies section a look; as I've said, I'm a writer (essays and short stories, mostly), but I also enjoy sculpture (when I have access to a shop, welding and ceramics), playing guitar and mandolin, singing, knitting, making sourdough bread, and (very amateur) gardening. I also enjoy running with my dog, Deviline. I'm a creative, driven, and passionate person. I believe in compassion, clear boundaries, and excellent communication. I would love to continue to share that creativity, respect, and curiosity with kids - hopefully your kids! If I seem like a fit for you and your family, feel free message or call.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired on 02/20/2020.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/23/14

Ratings & reviews

Kailyn doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$16-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Autism

Education

English, Creative Writing

Graduated Reed College 2017

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Kailyn's profile

Report

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "www.cdss.ca.gov".

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now