JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 2 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Babysitter in San Diego, CA 92115

Meet Jessica

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a May 2015 Liberal Studies/ Social Work graduate from San Diego State University. In August, I was chosen to be a part of Peace Corps in Namibia, Africa as a teacher volunteer. After embarking on my new journey in Namibia for a month, I realized that the teaching structure was not for me and that I want to have all of my passion and energy towards the younger souls (babies-toddlers-elementary). Now, I work for a non-profit where I am responsible for the After-School Program and also assist families with whatever resources they may need. I have babysitting, mentoring, and teaching experience thanks to my large family of nieces and nephews, my current and former employers, and my courses through SDSU. I am highly passionate about children and their families because I know how critical the first 5 years of life are for the development of the child's life Read more and mental well-being for parents as well. In general, I have a lot of love, patience, dedication, and respect for children and their families no matter what socioeconomic class they fall under. I am bilingual in Spanish and English; I also have some understanding of Oshikwanyama (the Bantu language I was learning in Namibia). I am flexible, a fast learner, and resourceful thanks to my natural tendency to problem solve, my major/minor, and my experience as a high school college advisor for low-income students. Thank you for your time and I hope to hear from you!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Jessica doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$10-$20/hr for the first child, $6 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities

Education

Liberal Studies/Social Work

Graduated San Diego State University 2015

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Jessica's profile

Report

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "www.ccld.ca.gov".

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now