Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in San Jose, CA 95123

Meet Nikki

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello, I'm Nikki! I recently quit my full-time job in tech to pursue what I'm truly passionate about -- equitable education! I have a bachelor's degree in Human Development from UC San Diego and I'm looking to babysit as I slowly transition my career. **I have over three years of experience working with children ranging from 6 weeks to 12 years, most of which were in educational settings. Some of my previous roles include: Babysitter for 4 different families (ranging from 1-3 kids at a time); Childcare Attendant at a daycare facility; Youth Leader at after-school programs throughout elementary and middle schools within the San Diego Union School District; and a Teacher's Assistant at the UC San Diego Early Childhood Education Center. Some of my responsibilities in these roles included engaging children with arts and crafts, encouraging active play, providing homework assistance, changing diapers, putting babies to sleep, and preparing Read more meals. **Aside from my paid work experience, I've also participated in three education-based research practicums at after-school programs. My research aimed to gain insight about bicultural development among Native, Black, and Latinx youth in San Diego. These projects involved developing culturally-relevant curriculum, encouraging language acquisition for early elementary school youth, along with examining same- and cross-racial friendships among high schoolers. **Like many care workers, I am a social justice advocate. I am open and accepting of anyone -- and I look forward to connecting with like-minded families who need part-time help. Know beforehand that I currently have pink-colored hair and a few visible tattoos. If you have already read this far, I hope that this will not be a concern for you :) **Lastly, I'm fully vaccinated, have my own car for transportation, and First Aid and CPR/AED certified by the Red Cross (Valid until 1/4/2022). If you are interested, feel free to send a message -- I'd be happy to schedule an interview and meet your family!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Completed Enhanced Background Check Badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Completed 10/20/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 08/09/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 08/04/2021

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Before school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Valerie S.

7/24/2021

Nikki has been my life saver for the week my son's daycare was closed. She called initially and asked appropriate questions. she is the first sitter Ive hired and Im so glad it was her because it was an awesome experience. She is punctual, played with my kids, did painting, took them biking in our grounds and even read them books before naptime. towards the end she was able to drop my kid to daycare and picked them up for a day. i felt my decision to hire nikki was a great one and families shell be working with will feel dafe to leave their kids with her. i definitely would like to work with Nikki again in the future! Thanks so much Nikki!

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$25-$35/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Human Developmental Sciences

Graduated University of California - San Diego 2018

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Nikki's profile

Report

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "www.cdss.ca.gov".

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now