Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 40 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in San Pedro, CA 90731

Meet Leilani

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I was a professional figure skating teacher for more than thirty years. I have provided loving care for newborns, infants, babies, toddlers, and children for many years. I've also cared for the elderly. I enjoy spending time with and caring for children. Reading, playing, teaching and listening to young children is very fulfilling to me. My priority with whom I care for is to provide loving care with a positive attitude and keeping little ones safe. I am an older mother and my daughter is grown and about to graduate from UCLA. I'm so proud of her. I have had great times with the families I've had the opportunity to work with.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 06/20/2018

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 06/21/2018

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 9/1/15

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Anthony L.

1/26/2020

Leilani is great! She watched our 3 year old for us for 3.5 hours while we were at a school event. Our son took to her instantly, almost immediately referring to her as "Grandma Lani". She was exceedingly prompt, very engaging, great about communicating with us during the night (i.e. sent texts w/ pics, let us know when he wanted to call to say goodnight). When we got home, our son was sound asleep in bed. Very happy with the care she provided. One important thing to be aware of if you are the parent of a young child like us, and your child has not yet learned to not run from you in public. Lani is more of a "sit with your child at home/in a confined space" sitter — I would not recommend (nor do I believe she would recommend) having her watch children who might need chasing down/picking up/heavy wrangling. But for a responsible, kind, communicating, trustworthy adult to keep a watchful eye on your irreplaceably precious child/children, she is terrific. My understanding is that she is also adept at elder/senior care—she nursed a fmily member through a medical ordeal recently, to positive outcome.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$25/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Dyslexia
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Premature Newborn
    • Spinal Cord Injury
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Positive Behavioral Support

Education

Liberal Arts

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Leilani's profile

Report

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "www.cdss.ca.gov".

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now