Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 13 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Denver, CO 80202

Meet Maria

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello, Thank you for looking at my profile. I am an experienced Nanny/Family Assistant with years of experience. My last position lasted for a year, here in Los Angeles for a family and their adorable little boy. I cared for him from age 4 months until 18 months. Additionally, I am mom to a 14 year old boy who is very kind and creative. I love babies and am CPR Certified, Red Cross First Aid Training, Local Reference, Vaccinations, Background Check, Flexible and willing do some light housework. Primarily related to the baby/child and family laundry, pet care, common sense things like emptying the dishwasher, tidying up after meals. I am familiar with the RIE Method, I have used and taught Baby Sign Language as well as experience with fussy babies, special needs, sick babies, nap time issues, bottle feeding issues and preparing cooking organic babyfood from whole foods. Prior Read more to this, I worked for a family in Nashville with 3 kids. I performed most of the same duties for children ranging in ages newborn to 5 when I started. I also did some administrative duties and personal errands for this family. I have volunteered regularly for organizations such as Habitat for Humanity, YWCA, Various Hospitals ( neonatal, peds, general ) Animal Shelters and Homeless Missions. In addition to the mentioned experienced, I have babysat for years, cared for babies, toddlers and school aged children in various capacities ..including overnight, weekend and date night care. I am very hands on, don't mind getting dirty, love play time and especially creative play. I worked with my previous charge on developing milestones, tummy time, language skills which I utilized a lot of books, reading aloud, looking at pictures and talking, singing, music and nature walks. As he got older we went to the library, play dates and tumbling class. I am a patient, kind, nurturing person. I have a great sense of humor, love to laugh and have a positive outlook. I am CPR Certified, up to date on immunizations and willing to get any additional if needed. I have a safe, reliable vehicle that is insured and registered in CA. I am flexible with my schedule as well.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Expired on 04/14/2020

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired on 04/22/2018

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Expired on 04/13/2020

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/1/20

Ratings & reviews

4.3 4.3 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

3

0

0

1

0

Lucy Y.

12/5/2019

We heard about Maria through a friend of ours who had used her for a babysitter a couple times. At the time, I was pregnant with our first baby. I went into pre-term labor and ended up delivering early at 34 weeks so I had a little preemie baby boy. It also turned out that my special little guy has Trisomy 21 or Downs Syndrome. After spending some time in the NICU we got to bring our fella home. As my husbands leave ended I started to panic. We had no family in Minneapolis and I knew I needed some help. I remembered how much my friends loved Maria so we met her and she came a couple days a week at first. She absolutely fell in love with our little boy and was so knowledgeable and professional.. she knew so much about caring fir newborns even preemies. She was super protective of him and made sure that he was happy, stimulated, well cared for and I felt completely comfortable taking a nap or leaving the house to go get my nails done. I don’t wish pre-term delivery on any momma but if you do have a premature baby and need childcare, you should consider Maria.

Nitaya N.

6/12/2019

Laney R.

9/18/2015

Maria has been working for our family on and off for the past 2 years as an "on call " Nanny. She has been a delight to have around and my 2 1/2 year old boy adores her. She started working with us when he was a newborn and I really needed someone I could trust in addition to having a flexible schedule. My husband and I both work in the entertainment industry so we can work long and unpredictable hours. She has always been available, reliable, on-time and never once missed a day or not shown up. I wish we had a permanent position for her as she is a good human and wonderful with kids. My son, Jax has learned so much from her and that makes me very happy. She is a great cook, cooks healthy foods for him, baby food, meals etc. She takes great care of him when she is here so we don't have to worry. She is also great with our elderly dog. Highly recommend.

David B.

9/12/2015

Maria was our Nanny and Family Assistant for 3 years. As a musician who traveled a lot, I appreciated her ability to be available to us with little notice. She was truly a part of our family and we consider her a friend today. Caring for 3 kids under 5 years old is not an easy job but she was able to manage this with a positive attitude and a smile on her face daily. My kids are in love with her and ask about here still. She did a lot for us that were not part of her " job " per say but helped us tremendously. I trust her implicitly and would recommend her without hesitation.

Experience

Willing to care for 1 child per sitting

$15-$18/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Heart Defects
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Premature Newborn
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Respiratory Care
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Art and Music Industry - Nashville ST. Technical College - Photography/Video Production Program ( 2 years )

Middle Tennessee State University

References

Additional services

  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Share Maria's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now