Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Denver, CO 80226

Meet Joy

  • Speaks French
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello:  My name is Joy Thompson and I moved to Denver from Davenport, Iowa nine years ago.  I have been working part-time caring for children, pets and for elders and have excellent references.  I drive a Toyota Corolla And have a clean driving record and clean background check.   I also wish to care for children.  My own duaghters are 29 and 31 years of age and live in Iowa.  I am an honest, dedicated worker and enjoy children, love animals and elders love me!  I am very organized and am an excellent cook. I am also CPR and First Aid certified and am super reliable. I own my own home in Lakewood and do not smoke. Please call me at 563-508-3273 for a telephone interview.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 06/17/2021

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 09/15/2016

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.


  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

4.6 4.6 stars











Elizabeth H.


Cindy R.


Mrs. Joy was an excellent sitter for my two boys ages 11 and 5. She cleaned behind them, played, and read with them. She gave my older one the independent space he needed during her evening sitting while keeping my youngest safe, happy, and entertained. We will definitely call on her again!

Sonnet A.


Our girls love Miss Joy! Joy is a flexible, friendly, and experienced caregiver. We value her timeliness, her mindfulness and her willingness to help around the house with cooking and laundry. Joy is a loving, caring, compassionate nanny dedicated to providing our girls with an enjoyable and educational experience. She brings a passion for theater, music and song to their days. We feel so lucky to have found such a gem to guide and inspire our daughters.

Fang Q.


Joy is a great nanny. She came and took care of my sick child on a very short notice. She was obviously very experienced as my daughter warmed up to her very quickly (she usually has a lot of stranger anxiety and sometimes we have to stay home for hours with new sitters). Joy took good care of my daughter and my daughter still asks for her after she's gone. Will definitely call again.

Emmy J.


Joy was so nice to help let out our furry family members while we traveled recently. She was so kind to them, played with them, gave them lots of love and attention and even offered to keep my plants alive outside that I forgot about in the heat of the summer. She is trustworthy, very punctual and give updates each visit to give you a peace of mind. We have already penciled her in for our next vacations! We love the idea of not having to take the dogs to a doggy day care and keep them calm and comfortable in their own environment.

Chris S.


Babysits for my now two year old son. He always looks happy. She's punctual, reliable, and kind. Recommend her highly.

Catherine C.


Joy has been babysitting for us about a month now, and we couldn't be happier with the care she provides our daughter. Joy is prompt on her arrival time and doesn't mind staying later in the evening, which we really appreciate. On separate occasions, Joy has volunteered to spend additional time with our family to make sure our daughter feels comfortable with her. We are thankful to have a reliable, caring and skilled babysitter for our child. Thank you Joy!

Courtney B.


I would not recommend hiring Joy, she worked with my family for a while and our relationship ended very abruptly. She was supposed to watch my boys until Saturday night at 5:30, she told me she had accepted another babysitting job for the evening. And asked to take my kids to downtown Denver to pick up little boy. After telling her I did not feel comfortable, she decided to go pick up another babysitter and leave my kids in the care of another person until I got home. Joy did not call to discuss this with me, and it was my surprise when I got home. She also purchased a nanny pass for the Childrens Museum, which I paid her half of the Friday before she quit. And she refused to reimburse me any money towards the pass, since my child only used it once. If you have any questions regarding Joy please feel free to contact me, Courtney 303.810.9942 She also was supposed to take my kids to do fun things on a daily basis, but would take them to run personal errands on a constant basis. I would not recommend hiring Joy.

Ashley M.


After our scheduled sitter was a no call no show, my husband and I called Joy! She was able to help us on extreme short notice, and made it to our house in 20 minutes! Not only that, she took wonderful care of our children. Our son wasn't very excited that we were leaving, and Joy connected with him, and he wasn't so sad anymore. He couldn't wait to tell me all the fun they had. He had a great time, and cannot wait to play with Joy again.

Heather H.


We needed a sitter for our 10 month old for tonight with just a few (~7) hours notice. She was prompt, very sweet and we came home to our three small dogs curled up on the couch with her. We are fortunate to have found Joy and it was great to have such a kind, experienced person who loves babies and dogs available on such short notice! :)

Jamie G.


Joy is a fantastic person and babysitter! Our kids just love her. She is professional i.e. she is on time and has never backed out of a job she has committed to. But she is also loving and fun! She plays board games with my girls and they have great time together. She is really like a second grandma:)


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$16-$18/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Diabetes
    • Dyslexia
    • Hearing Loss
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Premature Newborn
    • Seizures
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Insulin Injections
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)



Graduated Indiana University Bloomington 1981


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • French

Share Joy's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now