Sittercity home Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 25 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Ashford, CT 06278

Meet Karen

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My name is Karen. I am 47 with 2 grown boys (1 in College and 1 in the military) and a husband retired from the Ct state police. I retired 2 yrs ago as a social worker for the St of Ct. Every parent strives in raise children who are confident, independent, happy and self sufficient beings. My personal and professional experiences, along with my passion for caring and interacting with children, contribute to these goals. I am gifted with organizational skills and multi-tasking. I possess an enormous amount of patience, which is a very important quality when caring for children. Children need to have a sense of stability and consistency, in addition to being allowed enough freedom to grow into confident self sufficient individuals; something I balance well with children. A successful caregiver needs to be able to give individual attention. Gaining the trust and respect of a child Read more is very important. If a child doesn't respect you, they rarely will listen. I don't believe in anger, violence, or threats to motivate children into behaving as most children simply desire to feel respected, needed, listened to and understood. With my education and own experiences as a “mom,” I relate well with children of all ages, from infancy to the teen years. I enjoy being active and spending time outside whether it’s hiking or swimming or simply gardening or taking a walk. I advocate for children of all ages to join in on physical and outside activities but recognize the bonding experience that also comes from snuggling on the couch with a good book or movie. I am an affectionate person but also know children have individual boundaries that need to be respected. My beliefs are that children need to be shown affection and love in order to know how to reciprocate it. I’m efficient with daily activities and scheduling. I’m happy to take care of light laundry and making nutritious snacks/meals as personal health is also something I enjoy teaching and learning about. I’m a safe driver with no derogatory driving history. I have over 25 yrs of professional experience interacting and assessing children and families. I feel strongly in offering up choices to children rather than saying “no.” I am able to implement routine, stability and consistency to children’s lives. Children learn through their own exploration and should be allowed to do just that, in a safe manner. I believe fostering mistakes should be viewed and utilized as learning opportunities. Max word reached! Regards

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 5/8/19

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

2

0

0

0

0

Mani M.

6/27/2019

Mani M.

6/27/2019

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dwarfism
    • Dyslexia
    • Epilepsy
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Fragile X Syndrome
    • Heart Defects
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Multiple Sclerosis
    • Muscular Dystrophy
    • Pervasive Development Disorder
    • Premature Newborn
    • Rett Syndrome
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Insulin Injections
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Psychology

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Karen's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now