JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 22 years paid experience
  • Age 38
  • Babysitter in Bridgeport, CT 06607

Meet Tia

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

As a nanny and babysitter, I have over 20 years of experience caring for children of all ages, from infants to preteens. I also have a high functioning Autistic son, so I have experience with special needs children. In the education field, I worked at a public charter school with a diverse school population of children who required special education and had behavior problems, as well as regular education students ranging from Kindergarten to 8th grade. As a teenager, I volunteered at a local daycare in the infant and toddler rooms where my mother worked as an Infant Teacher. I also grew up in a house where my parents fostered many different children. My mother also ran a home daycare where I participated heavily in the care of children varying from 2 months old to 5 years old. I have always loved children and they gravitate towards me as well. Read more In my previous experience as daytime and live-in weekend nanny of multiple children, I learned how difficult it can be to manage the varying needs of children in diverse stages of development. I honed the ability to care for each child individually, while paying close attention to the needs of the group. I am in favor of a structured day as it gives children an opportunity to follow a schedule and to learn and understand discipline. However, I do like to see children enjoy themselves and have fun. Most importantly, I am committed to providing a safe, nurturing environment for the children in my care. **Having worked in the school system in an instructional role and secretarial role required me to get fingerprinted as well as have a thorough background check done**

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Tia doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$16-$26/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Diabetes
    • Epilepsy
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Insulin Injections

Education

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

Share Tia's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now