Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Glastonbury, CT 06033

Meet Arlene

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have lived in Glastonbury, CT for the last 22 years.  I have raised both my two sons, (one is 22 and the other is 25) here in Glastonbury.   I have been a mother, teacher, and tutor for over 25 years and love nurturing children.  I always knew that loving children would culminate in making a career with helping them in one form or another.  I feel comfortable with any age children, from small infants through elementary age.  I have been through wonderful, fulfilling experiences with all children of all those age ranges.  I would take great pleasure in taking care of your child(ren) and would and take my responsibility very seriously.  I would ensure that your children felt comfortable, safe, happy and secure under my care.  I would treat your child(ren) as if they were my own.  Words to descibe how I would relate to your child(ren) would be Read more warm, loving, nurturing, responsible, upbeat, positive, organized, compassionate, sensitive to their needs, energetic, and fun-loving.  My goal would be to make their time with me consistent, fair, loving and enjoyable.  Additionally, I would enjoy teaching your children, helping them with homework, playing games/sports with them, and any other activites that you might like me to do with them.  I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 04/18/2021

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 04/18/2021

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and evenings
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/13/17

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

4

0

0

0

0

Paul S.

5/14/2017

Arlene is a consummate professional. She possesses outstanding communication skills and is always upfront/honest with you regarding her care for your child. Arlene handles discipline effectively and more importantly cares for the whole child. She became a member of our family almost instantly. Arlene goes above and beyond the call of duty. We cannot stress how blessed we are to have her in our lives.

Stephen L.

10/27/2013

Arlene is a kind, gentle caregiver who is naturally nurturing and good with infants. I appreciated how she asked questions about what activities I preferred for her to do with my son while she watched after him. She is also a punctual and responsible person.

Kelly P.

9/4/2012

Arlene cared for my children this summer. I found her to be very reliable. Arlene was also flexible with our schedule changes. She had lots of interaction with the kids. They loved spending time with her. I appreciate her calm nature and warmth. Thank you, Arlene for taking such good care of my kids!

Barbara S.

9/16/2011

I cannot say enough about Arlene....she is simply AWESOME! She is a mother that has been there. She is patient and loving. This is the type of caregiver that you want your children to be exposed to. She works in the school system and does tutoring...so she is attuned to children. She sits with our 2 year old twins and they absolutely adore her. I have left before and my one twin is very "tantrumy" and she always handles the situation without any problems. I highly recommend Arlene!

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Education

Elementary Education

Graduated University of CT

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework

Share Arlene's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now