Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 31 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Ledyard, CT 06339

Meet Cathy

  • Special Education Certification
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

.Hi! My name is Cathy. I am a young-looking and young-acting retired special education teacher . I really miss the kids. I had been an honorary grandmother to a little girl and watched her one day a week from birth to kindergarten. I played with her both inside - playing board games/Legos/card games/Play-Doh, baked, did arts and crafts, watched Disney /educational videos and outside - going to the park,library, playground, children's museums, aquarium, beach. I have experience with infants and have taught grade ranges Kindergarten through high school. I am very friendly, responsible, caring, kind, cheerful, and hard-working. I have watched a 7 year old girl and 9 year old boy for almost a year until they moved , helping them with homework, playing outdoors, and going to parks, the zoo, movies, and kid's fun places. I have taken care of and nurtured a toddler from the time she was Read more 3 months old until 2 years of age. We went on daily outings to the park, library, and children's museum. I have kept a daily journal for parents to enhance communication. I have had several dogs ( golden retrievers) and am pet-friendly. I am very hard-working, reliable, friendly, kind, supportive, and loyal.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired on 09/07/2018.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Expired on 09/07/2018.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 6/8/18

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Holly P.


Cathy is an amazing care taker for my son. She understands his needs and is very attention to detail with communication and with all of the activities. I highly recommend her. She is prompt and readily available. After her 2 hour interview with both of us chatting away...I felt very comfortable with choosing her.


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Positive Behavioral Support


special education

University of Connecticut


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Cathy's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now