JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 9 years paid experience
  • Age 25
  • Babysitter in Moodus, CT 06469

Meet Abigail

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello, my name is Abbie! As a college student finishing up my degree in Public Relations/Advertising, I have always had a passion for kids and animals. Within local church programs, I’ve taught children from Pre-K to 2nd grade, and have held the role of camp counselor for a local Parks and Recreation Department for ages 2-11. I have also volunteered multiple times at a homeless shelter in Hartford working with the children there, and offered my services as a Mother's Helper for four years before taking on paying babysitting jobs. In terms of experience with pets (while I never was able to have my own growing up due to my father’s allergies), I’ve loved animals since I was a little girl and have even trained wild mustangs. Over the past 14 years, I have worked as a babysitter, nanny, housekeeper, and pet sitter. My extensive experience has helped me become Read more adaptable in a variety of situations. Within the last two years, I nannied for a family with two children, prepping them for school and getting them on the bus/driving them to school. Aside from that position, I have worked with multiple families of 2-3 children on a monthly to weekly basis for the past five years. In 2013, I was hired as an assistant teacher and worked with children ages 0-12, anywhere from 4-10 children at a time. I also worked some with multiple special needs children with varying disabilities including severe autism and ADHD. I am creative, organized, and affectionate. Respect is very important to me, not only for child to adult, but adult to child. There is nothing more precious than being able to be a part of a child's life and to know that you helped made a difference. As a side note, I consider communication to be a very important element of any working relationship. Meeting with your children as well as you as the parent/s is a must. I want to understand the guidelines and parameters you set for your children so that we can present a unified front that provides stability and structure that is healthy for your child’s intrapersonal/interpersonal development. Additionally, it is important for me to meet your children to make sure that we are a good fit for one another.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/5/17

Ratings & reviews

Abigail doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$40/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Mental Illness
    • Bathing

Education

Communication

Graduated Middlesex Community College - Middletown 2015

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Abigail's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now