Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 0 years paid experience
  • Age 52
  • Babysitter in New Haven, CT 06515

Meet William

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

CURRENTLY INACTIVE Hi, I'm Bill. I am a New Haven resident, I have 5 children and a lovely inspirational wife. The oldest 3 have gone off into the world and the youngest 2 are nearly ready for college. I am an avid cyclist and outdoors-man. I enjoy learning new things, and I am a fan of science and history documentaries. My employer relocated in 2008. Unable to find another job with comparable pay, our family was faced with some difficult decisions. Unwilling to send our children to a failing school and unable to pay for private education, we decided that I would stay home and teach our children. It was the best "job" I've ever had. We modeled our learning from what I saw happening at their (amazing) preschool. We played at learning as much as possible. We took advantage of every program we could find library story and craft Read more groups, zoo and museum passes, home school cooperatives and any event or activity we could find on the internet, and of course reading, writing and math. We found that by only having two students, the core subjects took very little time from our day and left lots of time for catching frogs, building forts and reading stories under a tree. Now, some years later, the benefits of learning through "play" are very clear. Our society is evolving to disregard the traditional assignment of individual roles. I am not a typical care provider. I am looking for an opportunity where that is seen as a plus. I truly enjoy spending time with kids. They are my favorite kind of people. The criteria of paid experience assumes that no one volunteers their time. I have the following, unpaid, relevant child care experience: -Volunteered to work with children in a preschool. 2 years -Created and conducted science and technology classes for children ages 6 to 12 for homeschooling cooperative group. 3 years -Tutored math and acted as a Teacher's Assistant for elementary and middle school (primarily 3rd and 6th grades). -My core principle in caring for children is to act as a guide . Mistakes are opportunities for growth. I endeavor to serve as a safety net, not a crutch. Children learn more from what we do, than what we say. I believe it's important to keep that thought in the front of our minds when interacting with kids. I value time and privacy of my references. References available for serious interest in longer term employment opportunities.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Completed Enhanced Background Check Badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Completed 07/16/2020. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Completed Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Completed 07/16/2020. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available mornings and afternoons
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Available to start on 6/8/2020
  • My availability is valid through 9/1/20

Ratings & reviews

William doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 1 child per sitting

$50-$50/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)


Electronic Systems Technology

Graduated Community College of the Air Force 1994


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Science

Share William's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now