Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Windsor, CT 06095

Meet Kayla

  • Comfortable with pets

(I'm available to start in-person work on August 23rd) Hello! I'm a reliable, energetic, and studious college student with approximately 3 years of paid experience with tutoring and babysitting kids and teens K-12 and a lifelong experience of caring for children of all ages. I've worked with kids through several avenues, from formally tutoring at middle schools to initiating my own kid-centered programs that centers on political education and community building. The subjects I've taught are: Math, ELA, Reading/Writing, Chinese Mandarin, Test Prep. Within the specialties that I've listed, I have earned an A- or higher on that subject and had tutored in with personalized study plans I've created. Additionally, I am certified in CPR/AED and it expires in 2022. I strive to equip every child that I come across with the tools to navigate through the world successfully and to lovingly push them towards their greatest potential. I'm a Read more natural planner and multitasker and do great under pressure, so minimum supervision is required. With my skills and experience, I'm able to provide a supervised and safe environment for young ones. I previously worked at a middle school within the D.C. area, where I tutored struggling, average, and advanced students in Literacy/ELA approximately around 6 hours per week. We typically choose which format of media that the student prefers (i.e. ebook, article, etc.), read the text fully, and enter back into the text to dissect its writing format, grammar usage, vocabulary words, and more depending on the student's area of understanding. Usually I'll have the student undergo a diagnostic test I have designed to evaluate where they are in their learning so that I can properly asses and make use of their valuable time. I prepare lesson plans to meet goals identified in students' individualized study plans and maintain detailed files that track students learning progress. Additionally, I have understanding in organizational platforms such as Notion and have intentions of teaching all of my students on how to utilize this tool in order to succeed in their studies.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Completed Enhanced Background Check Badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Completed 07/20/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 07/24/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Kayla doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$35/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Currently attending American University

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Kayla's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now