Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 17 years paid experience
  • Age 30
  • Babysitter in Washington, DC 20002

Meet Vanessa

  • Early Childhood Special Education Certification
  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

I am looking for a delightful family to work for on an as needed basis. I have worked with children my whole life. I tutored a girl since she was in first grade and now St. John's college. Last summer I worked with two families. One family had a one month old baby and the second family had two girls ages 1 and 3. Two summers ago I had the opportunity to work with a very nice family. I took care of an eight month old girl.Three summers ago I taught math to entering seventh graders with a program called Breakthrough. Four summers ago I volunteered with a program called Amigos de las Americas.  My passion is working with children and one of my goals in life is to open up a daycare.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

2

0

0

0

0

Pia M.

8/18/2012

Vanessa took care of our one-year-old for several hours at a time over a five-month period, and she was great with him. She was very good at talking with him, helping him develop his language, she sang and danced with him and took him to the playground a lot. She was careful with him and we felt completely safe leaving him with her. Would strongly recommend her.

Karissa L.

8/9/2008

We loved Vanessa! She came just in time when our current sitter went back to CA for the summer. We are so very sad to see her go. She was wonderful with Olivia (9months). Olivia doesn't go to very many people, and she was totally comfortable and enjoyed Vanessa's company. Vanessa was always on time and I never had to worry about anything going wrong. I'm really sad to see her go back to school, but we wish her the very best.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Education and Spanish

Barry University

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Vanessa's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now