Sittercity home Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 14 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Gainesville, FL 32607

Meet Maria

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi there my name is MariaElena. I am from Carolina Alta, Puerto Rico. I have been living in Gainesville, FL since I was 8 years old.  I am in the process of moving here  because my brother is a Warren Officer in the Marines and stationed here in Jacksonville NC.  I have been working in child care since the age of 13, started of  babysitting here and there until the age of 18 when I got a job in a daycare. I worked in daycare until the age of 22. I got married and started doing Nanny from home. I've been doing this now for a couple years. I feel like I love more to be a nanny because you get more of a one-on-one with a child rather than in a daycare environment there's a different ratio so you don't get that one on one. I have always wanted Read more the parents to feel safe when they drop off their most precious gift and feel secured that I will care for them with my whole life as if they were my very own. I love what I do and I don't think that that will ever change, I feel like I can learn so much from the children and the same time they learn so much from me. Right now in Gainesville I have an in home daycare where I have eight children right now with another co-worker. The ages vary from 3 month old too a four year old. I have plenty of references that I am willing to give upon request. I like to have everybody on a schedule where they do Circle time, learning time, manipulatives, sensory,  outside time, arts and crafts, and so much more. Depending age we focus on colors, shapes, numbers, alphabet, writing, homework activities,  and any requirements for that age group. I have gotten kids ready for VPK that's a program that they have here in Gainesville I don't believe that they have it there in Jacksonville. I potty train, I can prepare meals,  I am bilingual and love to speak Spanish to the kids so that way they will learn a second language, I also know some sign language that I also try to teach them.  I am looking to add more kids because as of right now I will only have a 4 year old.  if you have any questions please feel free to email me or contact me to my phone number, thank you so much for your time and I hope to hear from you soon.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and evenings
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 4/30/18

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Julie G.

11/13/2011

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$15/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Cancer
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Premature Newborn
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Attended Santa Fe Community College

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Maria's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now