Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 32 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Lakeland, FL 33811

Meet Valanie

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I started caring for children that were not my siblings when, I was thirteen years old. Before that I cared for my younger siblings when I was just six years old. I grew up as the fourth oldest, in my family of ten children. I have always loved caring for children. I have been caring for children and, helping families for over thirty plus years. I am married with three almost all grown children of my own. My husband and I lived in Chicago for sixteen years. While living there, I worked as a home care helper for the elderly. I then took a break to care for my niece and nephew. I started caring for them when, they were just a few weeks old. They are now ten and seven years old. My husband, my children and, I then moved to Florida. I miss my niece and nephew dearly! Read more I am CPR and First Aid certified for all ages. I really love rocking infants and, singing to them. I love the wonderful imagination that young children have. I'm not a push over but, at the same time I'm very compassionate. I am not allergic to any animals that a family may have. Some of my intrests are Arts and crafts, puzzles, singing, reading stories to children, and board games. I am a non smoker and a non drinker. I would love to help to you and, your family. Thank you so much for your time. Valanie S

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Expired on 09/05/2019

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired on 12/08/2020

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Expired on 05/24/2018

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 3/31/20

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

5

0

0

0

0

Stacey S.

11/27/2020

We have only needed her once so far but my daughter loves her! Responds in a timely manner and is friendly.

Wendy N.

7/18/2020

Valanie was great! My 8 month old daughter is in her “stranger danger” phase and pretty much screams if anyone who isn’t me or her dad comes near her. It was an uphill battle for my little one to warm up to Valanie but Valanie did everything in her power to make my little one feel comfortable. She was so patient, kind, warm and playful with my little one. By day 3, they were besties :-) Thanks Valanie!

Demianna L.

6/23/2018

Valanie provided last minute care for our infant and was great to work with! She was repsonsive, helpful, and wonderful with our baby. We will definitely use her help on future trips and highly recommend her!

Tyler P.

3/12/2018

Val took care of our infant and preschool aged children, and was amazing. She arrived on time, was confident and kind. Will absolutely have her watch them again in the future. :)

Katie F.

1/18/2018

Valanie has babysat our baby a handful of times (between ages 4 months - 1 year) and I am lucky to have her nearby! Our son adores her. She has many years of experience with small children and babies; it is like second nature to her. As a new mother I was nervous to leave our baby the first time, but she made me feel very comfortable and confident. Would highly recommend.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$17/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Delayed Speech
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support

Education

Attended

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English

Share Valanie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now