Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Honolulu, HI 96817

Meet Laura

  • Speaks English, French, and Japanese
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! I’ve been living in Hawaii since Covid began to help take care of my aging mother. I had been living between NYC and Porto, Portugal where my company was based. For the last 10 years I had a sustainable footwear company and sadly Covid decimated us. Previous to Portugal, I lived in Tokyo for 10 years and speak Japanese. And previous to Tokyo, I did part of my university in the south of France in Aix-en-Provence, so I also speak French. I did my Masters degree in psychology with an emphasis on children’s development and am continually fascinated by their growth and blossoming. I’ve looked after children from infancy through teen years and taught levels from kindergarten through college. I am a pianist and love to do musical activities with toddlers. Having no inhibitions, children are able to connect with music in such a beautiful way. I also love Read more to dance and play outdoors when possible. Whether it is preparing healthy snacks, practicing elocution or taking nature walks, safety is a priority and we will be sure to have as much fun as possible! Since I’ve been in Hawaii I’ve been exploring gorgeous landscape and am an active scuba & free diver. I love going on hikes and try to be outdoors as much as possible. My schedule is very flexible and I’m available basically all days. Thank you for your consideration!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Completed Enhanced Background Check Badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Completed 05/28/2024. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Completed Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Completed 05/26/2024. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.


  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Danielle K.


Laura watched our 2 year old son last minute on NYE as we attended a wedding. I felt very comfortable with her and she kept me updated throughout the evening. She was great with him and I definitely recommend!

John D.


Laura arrived 10-15 min for each session. She was very professional and our two kids loved to spend time with her.

Peter M. S.


We had the pleasure of working with Laura while we were on Vacation in Hawaii. She was extremely helpful, dependable, reliable and caring with our 10 month old daughter. We had employed her for Four days. 2 in Waikiki and two more on the North Shore. We were extremely happy that she was willing to commute to the North Shore for us. There and back almost 3 hours per day of commuting, true dedication and great work ethic. We would most definitely hire Laura again if we were to return to Oahu but in the meantime we highly encourage others to Employ Laura as she is a Fantastic Nanny and caretaker. The Schans Family


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$25-$75/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)


Graduated University of Michigan - Ann Arbor 1997

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • French
    • Japanese

Share Laura's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now