Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 17 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Kahului, HI 96732

Meet Kahiwahiwaokalani

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Aloha, My name is Kahiwahiwaokalani Macanas, but the children call me "Aunty Hiwa". I am married with three beautiful girls of my own; ages, 19, 7, and 4. I was a license childcare provider (out of my home) for 17 years and as a childcare provider I did the following: • Prepare and maintain attendance, activity, planning, accounting, child’s personal records for DHS, and preparation and maintenance activities • Confer with parents to discuss educational; activities and policies, and child’s behavioral or learning problems • Set educational standards and goals, and establish activities to carry them out • Monitor child’s progress and provide children with assistance in resolving any problems • Plan and implement instructional methods and content of educationa; activity programs • Provide direct care to children • Greeting children and their families • Provide a safe, loving and nurturing environment • Provide healthy snacks and meals for all Read more children in my care • Provide positive discipline • Assist parents with toilet training children • Drive children on various excursions Although I no longer do full time childcare, I do on occasions work as a drop in evening childcare provider. I may also do weekends depending on the situation needed. I currently work with at-risk families ensuring that their children are safe. my responsibilities include the following: Provides short term (no longer than 12 months) voluntary case management to families who are referred by Child Protective Services (CPS). Conducts the following assessments within the required time line: DHS Safety and Risk Assessment, Comprehensive Assessment, etc. Responsible for writing Safe Family Home Reports and Family Service Plans that follow the requirements of CPS. Coordination of service referrals and service delivery including participation in case conferences or consultation meetings with service providers. Complete and maintain documentation in accordance with CPS procedures including entering and keeping current all case information and data into the CPS system daily. Responsible for case management of all assigned cases. I am also certified in adult/ infant and child CPR w/ AED and First Aid. EDUCATION: • Bachelor’s/Healthcare Studies Ashford University (online) March 2015 • Bachelor’s/Early Childhood Education Ashford University (online) March 2015 • High School Diploma Maui High School May 1995

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Michelle B.

6/4/2017

I'm so glad we found Kahiwa during our trip to Maui. The fact that she's a mom and long-time childcare professional helped to ease our concerns about introducing our toddlers to a new sitter in a new environment. She was super communicative beforehand, answered all our questions, and also asked all the right ones to get to know about the kids. When she arrived the boys warmed up to her immediately and they also loved the toys and books she brought (which was extra helpful since we hadn't brought a ton of options from home). I appreciated the photo updates throughout the evening (lots of smiles!) and coming back to a tidy apartment with a full report on their time together. I highly recommend Kahiwa!

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$30/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Grooming and Hygiene

Education

Early childood education and Healthcare Management

Graduated Ashford University 2015

Additional services

  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English

Share Kahiwahiwaokalani's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now