Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 35
  • Babysitter in Kaneohe, HI 96744

Meet Mary

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi there! A little bit about me: I have a doctoral degree in Clinical Psychology, with a focus in children and families. I have extensive experience in providing interactive care to children ranging in age from 8 weeks to 18 years and have worked with families on long and short-term bases. I am also able to help with homework for grade school subjects and able to prepare simple meals. I always keep the house tidy while I'm there--sometimes even cleaner than when you left it if the kids go to sleep while in my care. I love pets as well and am more than comfortable being around them! I am a non-smoker and have my own transportation. **CURRENT AVAILABILITY AND INFORMATION: I may be open to opportunities to provide occasional and/or short-duration child care (i.e., 5 hours or less, negotiable on case-by-case basis). INTERVIEWS: Please be aware that as a Read more personal safety precaution, I will request caregivers' first and last names and phone numbers, as well as names/ages of children in the family prior to attending any interviews. Thank you in advance for your understanding!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 01/29/2015.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • My availability is valid through 1/4/14

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

7

0

0

0

0

John S.

7/25/2012

Mary, helped with my two girls 4 and 8 over the course of the last year while I was attending school. She facilitated quality learning time with the kids and developed a nurturing routine that kept them engaged until the moment I came home. On occasion, she shared tidbits of her experiences with the kids psyche as they transitioned through developmental stages over the course of the year. It was fun to compare notes. :-) Mary is over the top: prompt, responsive and dependable.

Samantha B.

4/19/2012

I had a business trip from the UK to Monterey over Easter and decided to take my family with me. Mary looked after my 4 year old throughout the trip daytime and evenings and was simply wonderful. My son did not stop talking about her, asking when she was coming and why weren't we going out for supper so that Mary could come over and look after him. She came every day with her 'bag of fun' which included glo-sticks, sponge sea creatures, simple stuff that he just adored. I wish I could pick her up and bring her to the UK. If you get Mary to look after your children consider yourself very, very lucky.

Cameron G.

12/15/2011

Mary watched our children and our friends children over the Thanksgiving Holiday. Kids loved her and she is a level headed confident person. 5 children under 8 is a big job. Children still ask about her. Thanks Mary

Sharon V.

5/24/2011

Mary has been excellent for us so far. We have a tempermental 11 month old and an energetic 3 year old and she handles both of them beautifully :)

Monica B.

2/7/2011

Brian G.

1/26/2011

Mary sat our son starting when he was 8 weeks old until my schedule changed when he was about 4.5 months. She was great! I never once felt nervous leaving my tiny baby with Mary - whenever I came home he was always so happy and had clearly had a good day. Mary was great about telling us everything that they had done during the day, how much he ate and slept, and any new things she had noticed. She also always used pretty much all the toys on hand to stimulate his little senses and entertain him. Mary was the first person to get Matt to giggle out loud, which made us parents very jealous but also so happy that Matt was spending his day with someone that made him that happy. All in all, Mary is a wonderful sitter and I highly recommend her!

Steven M.

11/16/2010

Mary is wise beyond her years. I am VP of WW business and a single father of (3) boys from the age of 6 to 10. All have special needs. Not only has Mary done a fabulous job with the kids but the kids love being with her. She is strict but fair, can read between the lines with the kids, understands special needs and provides the care and loving attention that has made me feel completely comfortable having her take care of my children if I am away in US, China or Europe. I know she has her head on straight and is always looking out for the best interest of the kids. I would be happy to be a reference if requested. They don't get any better than Mary...likely I will learn somethings along the way.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$17-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support

Education

Graduated 2013

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Mary's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now