Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Altoona, IA 50009

Meet Tessa

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hey there, I’m Tessa! I grew up in Altoona, Iowa and I've always loved working with kiddos. I’m a graduate of the University of Iowa (May 2020) in psychology, and I moved back to Des Moines to be near family when I graduated! I've been babysitting for several years and I have lots of siblings and cousins I grew up taking care of. The first 4 years of my career were in early childhood education and/or treatment. While I recently changed career paths, my passion is definitely still there! I have experience working with infants from just a couple of months old through all of elementary school, and I am comfortable working with all. I have spent the most time with 4-6 year olds. I'm very flexible with activities and I always want to make sure the kiddos are having a fun and safe time. Consistency with how I interact Read more with children and the rules of the parents is very important to me. I really value play as an important part of children's lives and I like to foster creativity and curiosity. I often facilitated arts and crafts activities in my job at the Iowa Children’s Museum in college, and would love to do that with other kiddos! I'm very patient with children, and I've also had experience and training with working with children with different sensory abilities and behavioral health experiences. I worked as a behavior technician for several months towards the beginning of the pandemic, so I have experience in that area. My preference would be to provide care in the children’s home since I have a small apartment and a cat, but I can definitely do so there if that isn’t an issue! I have my own car, and I am comfortable providing transportation to kiddos as well. I love pets and I am comfortable with cooking and light housekeeping. Don't hesitate to reach out with any questions, thanks for your time and I look forward to hearing from you!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.


  • Generally available evenings and weekends
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Tessa doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$10-$20/hr for the first child, $0 for each additional child



Graduated University of Iowa 2020

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading

Share Tessa's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now