Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Age 31
  • Babysitter in Ames, IA 50014

Meet Natalie

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have cared for children since I was in middle school because I love doing so. In particular, I love helping them grow. Some of my work with children includes the following. : - As a nanny for several infants, I worked with them on their physical and mental development, engaged them, prepared food for them, fed them, diapered them, and helped them fall asleep. - Once those infants became toddlers, I ensured they interacted with their peers, built their routines, and disciplined them as well. - For one academic year as a nanny for a preschooler, I supported his physical, mental, and social development, encouraged his independence, for example, by offering him choices, played with him, disciplined him with a time-out, and prepared lunch and sometimes a snack for him. - As an after-school sitter for multiple elementary and middle schoolers, I tutored them, interacted with or supervised them, Read more and assisted them with preparing snacks, as needed. I also disciplined them by stopping their action, discussing it, then agreeing on a consequence. - Considering most of the above children were in a set of siblings for whom I was caring, I spent time with them individually and in a group and mediated conflicts fairly and consistently. - For one year as a volunteer child care provider, I entertained around ten children between the ages of one and six years while their parents attended a seminar. - For four summers at a Girl Scout, resident camp, I acted as a counselor for campers between the ages of six and seventeen years. - For four academic years as an assistant teacher for an Irish dance school, I demonstrated steps, positioning, and stretches for around fifteen beginners who were as young as three years old. - For one academic year as a volunteer assistant teacher for a garden, I executed lesson plans for around fifteen elementary schoolers, such as scavenger hunts for plants and weeding races. I look forward to meeting you and your child or children.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 12/19/2016.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available evenings and weekends

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Prerna R.

11/18/2014

Natalie is one of the most conscientious sitters I have had for my kids. She brings lots of energy, discipline and fun to the job. She helps with the kids home-work and is essentially functioning as a tutor. Her teaching/tutoring is not just limited to homework time but she will use creative ways to incorporate learning into their daily routine. She asks our permission/advise when appropriate. She has shown good judgement when dealing with my rambunctious children. She is a great sitter /tutor rolled in one. P. Rastogi (Employer)

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$12-$16/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Autism
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Seizures
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Insulin Injections
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Mathematics

Attended Truman State University

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English

Share Natalie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now