Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Des Moines, IA 50312

Meet Taylor

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

After graduating from Norwalk High School in 2013, I continued my education to pursue a degree in Elementary Education. I’ve taken various education and psychology courses that have helped create a deeper understanding of the learning and development of children. I am looking to apply more experience in child care and education, in addition to my past work involvement at child care centers, tutoring, mentoring, and the multiple other opportunities I’ve had to work with children. Passion- Parents strive for caregivers who are passionate about their influence in children’s lives. Passion is a quality that I demonstrate in my everyday life. I’m eager to start a career in developing children’s cognitive abilities, and pleased to be able to gain experience through volunteer and employment opportunities. I see the importance of provider's loving what they do. Being passionate, and being there for children is essential for kids to being able to Read more relate, reach goals, and thrive. I have a deep desire to be influential, and beneficial to young lives. Experience- Through my high school and college education, I have become knowledgeable of the development of children, and how to be the best educator I can be. Beyond these helpful courses, I have already had much experience in the classroom, and around children. I’ve completed around 100 hours between my observation hours and practicum (completed at Oviatt Elementary in Norwalk and The Downtown School in Des Moines). I worked at Appletree Child Care Center during high school (1 year), and then accepted a position at Treehouse Growing and Learning Center in Ankeny when I moved for college (2 years). My skills lead to an offer to lead the 2 year old classroom in the afternoons, and create lesson plans. Along with tutoring and mentoring, much of my own learning came from building personal relationships with the kids face to face. The involvement and familiarity of being in a classroom environment will allow me to flourish as a nanny by exercising my ability to help children grow. Creativity- My unique ideas, and ability to think outside the box is one of my strongest attributions that I could apply as a nanny. I’ve been commended in my work for being able to engage kids, and keep them focused with exciting, and educational activities. As a volunteer for Gigi’s Playhouse, I had to create lessons for children with Down Syndrome. Being able to interact, be hands on, and allow kid’s to relate.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/1/16

Ratings & reviews

Taylor doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting


  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional


Elementary Ed

Currently attending Des Moines Area Community College


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Taylor's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now