Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 8 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Garden City, IA 50102

Meet Laura

  • Early Childhood Special Education Certification
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! My name is Laura Martin and I just relocated to St. Louis ! I moved here to pursue my Master's degree in special education while also being the graduate assistant dance team coach for Fontbonne University. I was living in Cedar Falls, Iowa prior to moving finishing my Bachelor's degree in early childhood education. I have been fortunate to have a variety of experiences in caring for children. I have worked for a variety of childcare centers that serve families and children from all different walks of life. I have worked with children in these childcare centers as young as 6 weeks and as old as 11 years! I have held a variety of positions such as head school-age teacher, assistant 3 year old teacher, toddler assistant teacher, paraeducator, and a 'float'! I have also taught dance and gymnastics for 3 years to students ranging in ages 3 years Read more old to 18 years old! I also have babysat for many different families! I enjoy having a close relationship with both parent and child. I have also had many educational experiences and practicums through the University of Northern Iowa while obtaining my degree in early childhood education. My most recent was student teaching in a 2nd grade classroom in Grundy Center, Iowa and a preschool at GMG school district in Garwin, Iowa. I am energetic, fun loving, active, and hardworking. I strive to follow best practice in education and caregiving. I am a firm believer that a relationship is the basis for great educational experiences!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Laura doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$10-$20/hr for the first child, $8 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Bathing
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support

Education

Early Childhood Education

Graduated University of Northern Iowa 2020

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • English
    • Social studies

Share Laura's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now