Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 0 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Iowa City, IA 52245

Meet Susan

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am an aunt to seven nieces and nephews, and babysat them/was responsible for them at various times in their lives. I was their parent-figure at times for an hour or two, for a weekend, and twice for a week. I have volunteered in elementary classrooms, and with WE Ride (Women Empowerment Riders). WE Ride encourages 7- to 16-year-old girls from under-resourced households to build confidence through learning biking skills. I'm also a neighbor to several kids 6 and under with whom I’ve developed relationships. In addition, when my mother was aging, I was her primary companion for about six months. When she went into an assisted living home, I was her primary caregiver and companion, aside from those working at the assisted living home. I periodically gave her baths, helped her in and out of tubs, showered her, rubbed her feet, sang to and with her, walked with her, Read more took her out for picnics and drives, played Scrabble with her, facilitated phone calls with family members, and in general tried to give her reasons to live. I also hired and communicated closely with a caregiver who spent a few hours/week with mom. Additionally, I developed relationships with staff at the home, and with doctors, social workers and other healthcare providers. It was one of the most rewarding two years of my life. (This is a partial list of my responsibilities, and does not include such tasks as finances and transport.)

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Susan doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$24-$100/hr

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)

Education

environmental education

Graduated Lesley University 1991

Additional services

  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • English

Share Susan's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now