Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Sioux City, IA 51104

Meet Claira

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

To Whom This May Concern, I am extremely excited to have the opportunity to be trusted with your child. I truly believe I am well equipped with the skills to put you at ease. I am the oldest of 5 children, I have 14 young cousins, and have babysat frequently over the years. I have also helped in Sunday school and nursery at church. I would like to add I am CPR, AED, First Aid certified. There is a significant age gap between my youngest two siblings and me (12 and 13 years). My youngest brother has special needs and can only walk with a walker, although he uses a wheelchair as well; he also does not speak, but uses some sign language and has a device to communicate. He will be in 1st grade age this fall. Growing up I was like a second mom to my siblings. I Read more would watch them while my parents went out for date nights or appointments and even overnight as I got older. I am well practiced at using bottles to feed infants, burping techniques, and have changed so many diapers it does not even phase me anymore! My brother having special needs has really taught me compassion, as well that children do not all look or act the same and that that is a beautiful thing. Seeing my parents struggle with communication in the schools has also shown me how important communication with a child’s parents is, especially when a child cannot communicate on their own. I believe I am a great fit for this position as I have years of experience working with children (of all ages). I am excited at the idea of working in an environment were I can be a light to your child and feel that I am doing something truly meaningful.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.


  • Generally available mornings and afternoons
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Claira doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $10 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework

Share Claira's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now