JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Age 63
  • Babysitter in Berwyn, IL 60402

Meet Doreen

  • Speaks English and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have been babysitting since I was about 13 years old. I babysat throughout high school and college. Got married and when I had my own two children, they weren't enough to keep me busy (and hubby said, "No more!"), so I did home daycare three days a week for girlfriends who were lucky enough to have 3-day a week schedules way back when. After 14 years in the classroom (grades K - 8), and 20 more as an assistant principal, I've done more than my fair share of "babysitting" while educating the children. Some teachers lock that door at 3:00 and go home. I never could and never would do that. I looked at it as a career and an opportunity to make this world a better place, NOT just as a job and paycheck. So while I may be older, I am very young at heart and active. Read more I am loving ,caring, have a great sense of humor, and can't get enough tutoring and babysitting in my life to keep me happy and moving! I am creative and love to do arts and crafts on my own and with kiddies. My babysitting has mostly been with area families. I DO have recent infant experience starting at 10 weeks of age. I am available mostly mornings and weekdays before 3 PM ,so I have the opportunity to take on those more unusual babysitting positions such as for a few hours here or there so that mom can get to the doctor alone or out shopping and having coffee with a friend. (We ALL love our kids, but we DO need our OWN time to keep sane!). I am recently recertified in Child CPR and First Aid. I have my own car with childseat and booster seat, have never smoked or done drugs, have had a complete FBI / State Police background check done (4 years ago), and have no problem with pets or with household chores. I look at everything we do as a learning activity for the child/ren. The child's needs ALWAYS come first. I also speak fluent Spanish if you wanted me to use it or teach it to your child(ren). Doreen W

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 7/1/19

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

3

0

0

0

0

Sayali S.

1/13/2019

Sayali S.

1/13/2019

Jennifer H.

3/5/2018

Once I read through Doreen’s bio I knew she’d be great and after meeting her I decided she was a great find to help our family. From the get go she came prepared with all sorts of arts and crafts and educational activities for her and my 2.5 year old to work on together. My daughter sits attentively at the table for hours (which is a true miracle) asking Doreen for “more”. It’s been so fun to see her eager to learn and work on the different activities Doreen brings with her. Every day is something new. Her educational experience is the best you’ll find out there when looking for a babysitter or nanny. She’s punctual, reliable, flexible and caring and will truly treat your kids as one of her own. She also helps around the house when she isn’t busy with the kids which is great. I won’t give her up without a fight, but I would highly recommend her for other part time positions that she desires.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene

Education

School Administration and Supervision

Graduated Concordia University Chicago 1993

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Spanish

Share Doreen's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now