Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 30
  • Babysitter in Buffalo Grove, IL 60089

Meet Amanda

  • Speaks French and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! I am a 29-year-old educator with over 15 years of experience in childcare. I am returning to the U.S. after spending time traveling the world and working as an English teacher abroad. I currently work as an online English teacher, but primarily late in the evenings and on a flexible schedule. I have a Master's degree in Linguistics from Northeastern Illinois University and a Bachelor's degree in French Teacher Education from Illinois State University. I have experience as a full-time nanny for several children at a time, a middle school teacher, preschool teacher, Sunday school teacher, academic tutor, camp counselor for children with cerebral palsy, and one-on-one caretaker for children with Downs syndrome. I have experience with newborns/infants, including multiples. I have been very active in the lives of my four young nieces. I love coming up with fun games, crafts, and educational activities for them to do -- Read more or for any kids to do! I'm pretty skilled at turning egg cartons and pipe cleaners into phonics or science lessons! I am first aid/CPR certified and have completed several academic courses related to child growth and development, child psychology, and Linguistics courses related to first language acquisition in young children. I have my own reliable transportation and I am a non-smoker. I am comfortable working with any pets. I am willing to do housework, run errands, and transport children to and from activities. I can provide several strong references upon request. Please feel free to contact me if you have any additional questions or if you'd prefer to speak over the phone. Thanks! Amanda

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/31/18

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

2

0

0

0

0

Sarah B.

5/1/2012

Amanda was really good with the children. She was always patient, kind and encouraging. She knew just what to say to get the kids to do what she wanted. They followed her willingly! She was always on the move to keep an eye on the kids. She makes watching 4 kids at the same time look easy.

Shruthi R.

12/1/2010

Amanda has been watching my 2 year old son and is fantastic with him. We are very happy and comfortable with her, she is professional, very kind, and loves kids. I would highly recommend her.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$22/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Down Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

French Teacher Education

Graduated Illinois State University 2011

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • French

Share Amanda's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now