Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 14 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60641

Meet Nicole

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi there, My name is Nicole. I am a college graduate with a B.A in Secondary Education in History. I have worked with kids for as long as I can remember. I started babysitting in 7th grade. In high school I babysat regularly, twice a week or more, and was a summer nanny for two families for two years. Throughout college I was a full-time nanny for two different families, ( 1 child and 2 children). One family I am still very close with today. I have watched children of all ages, anywhere from newborn to high school aged. While my degree is in working with students from 6-12th grade, I took multiple classes in college in early childhood, as that was my initial major in college. I currently am working with a Special Olympics team at a Chicago Public High school. I also volunteer weekly at Misericordia. This experience Read more has given me a good grasp in working with people of all ages with disabilities. I have worked as a tutor for students off all ages, and am great with homework help or working on skills through out summer break. I was CPR certified for many years, earning my certification three times. Certification does expire every couple years. I would be more than happy to take another certification course upon request. I like to keep the children I watch active. Whether it be having tummy time, playing make believe or drawing pictures on a rainy day, to taking walks to the park, heading over to the library, or driving to the zoo for the day. Spending all day watching TV or playing on tablets or video games is not an option for the children I watch aside from special occasions, perhaps when they are sick. I believe, and even more so now as a mother myself, that EVERYTHING can be turned into a learning experience for children of all different ages. There is always some small bit of knowledge that we can give them. Explanations are key to children's understanding of the world. When it comes to discipline with children, I am strict but fair. If a child intentionally hurts someone, that is a complete no-no! But accidents do happen and we need to be understanding. I like to build a bond with the children I care for, becoming an addition to the family, with the idea that we can all create a mutual sense of care and trust for each other. I hope after learning a bit about me, that you will consider getting to know me better to see if I am the right fit to watch you pride and joys. Best wishes! Nicole

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Expired on 05/24/2015

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired on 04/16/2014

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Expired on 04/27/2014

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and evenings
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 7/13/18

Ratings & reviews

4.9 4.9 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

6

1

0

0

0

Megan D.

8/10/2016

Sittercity Parent

12/4/2015

Our little girl had a tough night and Nicole handled it like a pro. She was calm, not frazzled and understood the nuisances of sitting for an infant. She gets it and put us, as new parents, at ease. We would not hesitate to have her watch our child in the future.

Sittercity Parent

8/13/2015

I would rate Nicole a 5. My daughter immediately hit it off with her. She was also great with my two-year old boy. They were laughing together over dinner. And, when it came time to put my little girl to sleep, she did so with magic fingers. She stroked her hair, and presto, she was asleep within minutes. I never have that luck!

Kelly C.

8/1/2015

Great job, thank you!

Sittercity Parent

6/16/2015

Nicole has been a wonderful sitter on two previous occasions for our nearly 8 month old son. She clearly has a ton of experience and didn’t have any trouble with our little man, who can be a little fussy. I feel fully confident leaving our son and with her, which really allows my husband and I to enjoy our time out of the house. I would highly recommend Nicole as a date night sitter!

Sittercity Parent

6/16/2015

Chie T.

5/18/2015

We had Nicole sit for our 6 year old and 2 year old in few occasional evenings. She is mature, flexible and reliable. Ask our 6 year old daughter what was the best thing happened to her this week "Babysitter!" :)

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$12-$18/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Down Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Administering Medication
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Secondary Education - History

Graduated Northeastern Illinois University 2017

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Nicole's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now