Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 26
  • Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60657

Meet Kate

  • Speaks English and French
  • Comfortable with pets

I have been babysitting for over 10 years, and I absolutely love kids! In high school, I babysat for families in the northwest suburbs (where I grew up) and in college, when home for the summer or over breaks, I babysat for multiple families in Lakeview and Lincoln Park in Chicago. The families all had two or three children, ranging from newborn and toddlers and between the ages of 5 and 10. Most recently, in graduate school in Los Angeles, I became a part-time nanny and evening babysitter for several families. This was a mixture of daytime (10+ hours) and evening sitting. With one family with a 16-month old, I took twice weekly trips to the nearby public park, prepared lunch, and implemented nap time. With another family with two kids ages 5 and 7, I babysat once a week during date night and helped with everything from dinner and Read more playtime to teeth brushing and bedtime. With several other families, I babysat on a more as-needed basis, managing crafts and playtime while parents ran errands or had other evening commitments. After working in two major cities with a variety of families, my knowledge of the latest childcare technology vastly improved as I've worked with elaborate strollers, baby monitors, sound machines, safety locks, and diaper trashcans. I also love braiding hair, if you have a little girl who likes to have her hair done :) When I was little, my babysitter always braided my hair when she came over, and it’s something I’ve loved to do now too! Also, I have celiac disease and have been gluten free for 10 years, so if your child has celiac or is gluten free, I am very knowledgeable about gluten free foods and cross contamination. And with this, I understand the severity of a variety of other food restrictions and allergies. I also speak French (a Bachelor's degree in French language and literature + seven months spent studying and working in Paris) and some Spanish! I currently work full-time at a pediatric hospital, and I would love to babysit on my evenings or weekends.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 04/14/2016.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Pending. Check for results soon.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

2

0

0

0

0

Kate A.

11/12/2019

Zach L.

9/5/2019

Kate has been our go to sitter for our son. She is warm, professional, punctual, highly communicative and has been great with our infant son as well as our dog! Kate is great with following evolving directions and routines as our son grows. We highly recommend and will continue to use Kate!

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$16-$20/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Global Medicine

Graduated University of Southern California 2016

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed

Share Kate's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now