Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Age 21
  • Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60618

Meet Jordan

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets

Hello, my name is Jordan Dockery, and I am currently a junior at DePaul University. I am pursuing a major in Communication Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies and maintain a 3.9 GPA. At the age of 15, I began working as a nanny for a group of four incredible children. I was their summer nanny for 3 consecutive years. The children I watched ranged in ages from 7-13 and consisted of three boys and one girl. Working multiple summers with the same children meant that I was continuously challenged to find new activities to do. We made fun new recipes together, created unique trivia games, went on small scavenger hunts, made crafts, put on plays, and more. I came up with individualized lesson plans for each child that included reading/writing, solving math equations, and participating in safe science experiments that prepared them for the upcoming school Read more year. One child had a reading disability that required me to spend an hour every day reading side by side to work through difficult sounding words with patience, guidance, and support. Beyond childcare, I was responsible for cleaning the home, taking care of the pets, and providing transportation to activities. When I wasn't working as a summer nanny, I attended an Minnesota Online HS that allowed me to maintain several part-time retail positions. I worked as a freelance makeup artist and boutique salesperson at DryGoods and Patina. As a freshman in college, I worked for Soma and picked up several babysitting jobs. Transferring to DePaul University in 2018, I worked as a beauty consultant for Riley Rose before leaving my position to work with Maybelline Cosmetics as a college event coordinator and brand ambassador. My current work with Maybelline allows for a contractor schedule with many open weekday nights and clear weekends. As a college student, I take a majority of my classes online, also providing with me many free days. Although I loved my time working in retail, I missed working with children and being able to provide families with safe, fun, and professional childcare care. I have lived in Chicago for over a year now and am well acquainted with several of the neighborhoods and feel comfortable picking children up and dropping them off at nearby activities or school functions. I love animals and am comfortable looking after any pet. I am a non-smoker, well-traveled, hardworking college student who loves to read and is always on time. Resume & reference available on request!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 11/21/2019.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Jordan doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Communication Studies

Currently attending DePaul University

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Jordan's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now