Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 14 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60626

Meet Melanie

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi my name is Melanie and I am a college graduate, that chooses to do what I love and pursue being a career Nanny in the Chicagoland area. I am a dedicated and outgoing nanny that has experience with newborns from 2 days old to pre-teens. The love and joy that I feel towards what I do, is amazing and I am now looking for a new family that will allow me to help their children grow in a safe and educational environment which is always my main priority. I have been a full-time Nanny for the last 6 years. I have experience transporting children all over the city for school and various activities, to play dates, as well as a wide variety of outings to keep them busy (i.e. Lincoln Park Zoo, Exploratorium, Kohl's Children Museum, library, bowling, etc), to creating fun games right at home like a mini-band Read more with the use of pots of pans (non-scratch items of course), to arts & crafts, bingo, dress-up, hide-and-seek, reading books, singing songs, to any other age appropriate creative things we could think of at the moment including outdoor activities such as bike rides, nature walks and extreme bubble blowing. My energetic and assertive personality, helps me be gentle but firm when needed. I have been described by previous employers as: reliable, mature, trustworthy, and responsible. In my previous position, I have also been responsible for preparing healthy meals, as well as light housekeeping such as folding laundry, loading and unloading the dishwasher, tidying up, as well as light grocery shopping and running errands. Overall, my philosophy of working with children is enhancing their imagination while still giving them a chance to be themselves in the safest way possible. I enjoy watching them grow up into smart, bright, intelligent children as I assist them hit new milestones every day. I have a flexible schedule which will be perfect for busy, on-the-go families with changing needs. I can provide a resume and excellent references.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 03/14/2016

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 05/19/2021

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 09/11/2014

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/3/21

Ratings & reviews

4.7 4.7 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

12

0

0

0

1

Samuel T.

8/5/2016

Melanie was very prompt and pleasant, and she went above and beyond keeping us in the loop about our kids. We're pretty easy-going, but I think her style of care would be such a boon for parents who are nervous or anxious about leaving their kids - it's very communicative and warm. We'll definitely ask her back. :)

Sittercity Parent

7/24/2016

Very professional, she sent messages throughout the evening to keep us up to date. Definitely booking again

Tabitha R.

1/13/2016

Melanie was a very sweet and capable sitter. I appreciated her updates throughout the night and the ease in which we communicated. I wouldn't hesitate to book her again!

Stacie E.

7/17/2014

Melanie has sat for us a couple times and our son and dogs immediately warmed up to her. That was a great sign and relief for us. She was prompt and very friendly. We look forward to having her sit again soon.

Sarah K.

2/12/2014

Melanie has been fantastic! Always on time and jumps right in to care giver mode! My daughter doesn't adjust to new people that easily, but she's grown to love Melanie. I always come home to a sleeping baby, and a picked up apartment. All in all, she's wonderful, hire her... That is if she isn't already booked by me :)

Joy S.

10/8/2013

Melanie is a true professional babysitter-- wise, patient, informed and supportive, of the kids and of the family itself. We feel lucky to have her caring for our 7 year old and our 9 year old each morning before school. She is prompt, conscientious, helpful and insightful. We recommend her highly, with no reservations.

Cindy L.

8/24/2013

Agreed to work for client, then was a no-show. After several calls, stopped trying. Very unreliable.

Aaron B.

8/8/2013

Melanie is a warm-hearted, genuine young woman. The care she shows to our 9-month-old son is comforting to us as first time parents. Timely and professional, Melanie is an exceptional person and babysitter.

Jason M.

1/7/2013

Melanie is punctual, conscientious, and great with our kids.

Cherisse P.

11/5/2012

Melanie was prompt and profession for her interview. And she's proven to be a great babysitter. Our four-year-old is having some minor separation anxiety issues, and she's not a big fan of date night. But Melanie handled the situation beautifully.

Carla W.

5/13/2012

Melanie has been an excellent babysitter for my two children -- ages 5 and 8. She is always professional, on-time and has made herself available on last minute notice. When we are out, she gives me text updates and let's me know when the kids have fallen asleep and that all is well. I highly recommend her!

Kathryn M.

8/25/2011

Melanie has babysat for us a few times now, and she always does a great job. My son loves her, we come home and he's asleep and happy in the morning. Very reliable and on time!

Mary F.

8/18/2011

Melanie is terrific, and we're lucky to have her as our regular sitter. She's very good with both of my daughters, ages one and three. She often brings over puzzles and activities to do with the girls, and keeps them active and entertained all day. I highly recommend her. She's always on time, confident about how to take care of the kids, but also isn't afraid to ask how I'd like something done, which I really appreciate.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Delayed Speech
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Premature Newborn
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy

Education

Healthcare Administration

Graduated Ashford University 2015

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Melanie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now