JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 9 years paid experience
  • Age 30
  • Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60604

Meet Archana

  • Certified Nursing Assistant
  • Speaks English and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi families, my name is Archana Swamy! I'm a lead toddler teacher at a preschool in the west loop seeking to shift my expertise into private nannying as I study and prepare to apply for my Masters in Clinical Mental Health Counseling degree (online program). I have 9 yrs of quality childcare experience and have easily cared for more than 50 children, ages ranging 1 week to 12 years of age. For the past 2-3 years, I have been working full time teaching classrooms filled with toddlers, planning weekly themed lessons filled with relevant fine & gross motor, sensory, artistic and literary activities. I have tracked their developmental milestones, kept anecdotal records of their overall progress in my classroom, provided parents with daily reported updates, filled incident reports documenting injuries/illnesses (if occurred) and held bi-annual parent teacher conferences. I have training in CPR, Active Shooter Preparedness, Food Safety & Classroom Read more Sanitation, and am a Certified Nursing Assistant. For the past 4 years, I have also provided regular weekend overnight care for a child from age 8 until he turned 12, as his parent traveled out of town for work two weekends out of each month. My Current Availability: -Monday-Friday, 7 am - 6 pm (flexible with exact times) -I am off all major holidays during the year (will provide a list prior to hiring) -I have an abundance of references Ill be happy to share, if interested :) A little more about me: -I was born in India and raised in the suburbs of Chicago (Naperville). I speak English and Tamil fluently, and semi fluent in Spanish. -I studied Psychology at the University of Illinois at Chicago -During my freetime, I love to dance, do yoga, play with my puppy Ollie, paint, travel, read and have recently been spending lots of time with my newborn sister :)

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/22/19

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

David D.

8/24/2013

Archana S. provided excellent care for our children. We have a 2 year old and a nearly 4 year old, and Archana has given care for both at once, and one-on-one. She is thorough, dependable, thoughtful and - above all - fun! The kids really enjoyed having her as a caregiver. I will hire her again, and recommend her to you and your children without reservation!

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$22/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Psychology

Graduated University of Illinois at Chicago 2012

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Archana's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now