Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 39
  • Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60626

Meet Simona

  • Speaks Other
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I started working in the childcare industry over 10 years ago and since then I have worked with a plethora of families be it full- time, part-time, occasional, seasonal, etc. as well as within the Chicago Public School system. I hold a B.S. in Psychology, and starting Fall 2018, I will start my Masters in Social Work at University of Chicago. I am currently working in a non-profit social service agency here in Chicago with youth at high-risk. I am bilingual, English and Romanian, and also understand Spanish and Italian. My caregiving approach is straight forward: engage by being attentive to the children's needs and by offering affection and care, while setting up firm limits and teaching responsibilities. Always work in tandem with the parents, establish norms and reinforce them! Favorite activities with children are reading as I myself am a voracious reader, art projects, walks to parks, biking, swimming, Read more taking them to museums, library, teach about good nutrition, and engage them in cooking , taking them on activities, etc.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 09/16/2014.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 6/30/16

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

2

0

0

0

0

Nandika S.

4/1/2019

Laura D.

9/29/2016

Simona is reliable, friendly, and great with the kids. She has been taking care of our children for a few weeks now, coming to our home a few evenings per week. She also helps us with preparing food and cleaning up and other basic things. We chose her because she speaks both Romanian and English fluently and has been teaching the kids. I recommend her very highly!

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$17-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Mental Illness
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Psychology

Illinois Institute of Technology

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Simona's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now