Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 8 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60634

Meet Vania

  • Speaks Spanish

I am originally from Peru, and traveled to the States to continue my education. I have plenty of experience working with infants and toddlers. I am a Spanish native speaker, but also can communicate in English pretty well. In addition to all my cares, I have taught all my charges how to speak the language, showing them the beauty of Spanish through songs, games, and books. I love being active, enjoying everything this city has to offer, so I like going to the park, playground, museums, pool, beach, library, everywhere we can learn and have fun at the same time! My qualifications include but not limited to: - Supervise and get involve in children's activities indoors and outdoors, and attend with them to infant or toddler classes, story-hour at the local library, going to the park, playground, etc. - Cook age appropriate and healthy meals and snacks for the child, Read more assist in feeding them while teaching table manners. - Provide a stimulating learning environment for the child's physical, social, emotional,and cognitive development and encourage social interaction organizing play dates - Help reinforce developmental transitions, such as sleep training, eating solid foods, potty training, etc. - Willing to follow a sleep and/or nap schedule and set a routine. - Able to perform light housework related to the child: laundry (clothes, bed liners, etc.), general tidying of child's room and play areas, cleaning up after child's meals. - Wash child's dishes and bottles and sterilize baby feeding supplies and toys. - Knowledge of the proper handling of breast milk (defrost, warm it up, and storage) and formula. - Comfortable giving medication (under parent's instructions) and doing cloth diapering. - Experience with babies with eczema problems and acid re-flux. I like to have a close relationship with the parents, so we can talk over your kids' needs and difficulties during their development and help them together, as a team. I am looking for a long-term position with an easygoing, professional, and well-organized family, who can treat me with respect and accept me as a member of it.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 9/14/21

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

4

0

0

0

0

Meghan M.

6/2/2017

Vania has cared for our daughter since she was 2.5 months old and we could not feel more blessed. She is caring, thoughtful, calm and loving. Our daughter lights up whenever she sees her and has thrived in her care. As a first time mom, I have been so appreciative of Vania's excellent communication. She has helped me be a better mom in so many ways. From letting me know when it's time to go up a size in diapers to helping me remember everything I need for my baby each day. She is a true professional. She is always punctual and totally focused on her work when she is with our baby. She has also been very sweet to our bossy little dog. I cannot recommend her enough! Any family who works with Vania will be so very fortunate.

Colleen B.

5/17/2017

Vania is an incredible, reliable, hardworking Nanny. She cared for our son from the time he was 3 months to 7 months old along with another infant girl that was 3 months. She is so gentle and caring for our children, and they absolutely adore her! She finds creative, interactive ways to engage the kids and spoke Spanish to our kids which we requested. Not only was she organized in caring for the kids, she also did more around my house than was ever expected or asked of her. Vania communicated relevant information promptly, such as if a child was showing signs of illness or was particularly fussy. We used an app to keep track of the kids daily schedules which she was meticulous in updating and added daily photos as well. She took our kids outside as much as possible and found new ways to engage them while indoors. She was never late and never called in sick. I would highly recommend Vania without reservations! Unfortunately, her school classes no longer worked with our schedule and we are devasted to see her go, but I know our loss will be someone else's gain.

Rachel W.

8/26/2014

Vania is wonderful with our infant son! I'm able work at ease knowing she is caring for him the same way I would myself. She receives instruction and direction very well, while also implementing her own style. I always come home to a tidy house, baby's laundry done, and dishes washed. The best part is seeing how much our son loves her. I highly recommend Vania!

Meghann O.

6/12/2014

Vania has been with our family for a few months taking care of our 13-month-old boy, and she has been wonderful. She is always on time, consistently engages with our child in age appropriate and creative ways, and also goes above and beyond in terms of being flexible with our schedules and in helping out around our house when she has down time (which is always very appreciated!). She is active, takes our little guy out everyday to play in the park and to go on walks; and she also speaks Spanish with him, which was one of our requests of her. It's been really great to see how our son is picking up words in Spanish thanks to Vania. If it were not for the fact that we have an au pair coming to live with our family, we would be keeping Vania as our primary nanny. She is fantastic! We highly recommend her for any family.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$20-$25/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)

Education

Currently attending

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training

Share Vania's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now