JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Babysitter in Chicago, IL 60647

Meet Shannon

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello, prospective families! My name is Shannon McCarthy; I am a 22 year old female living in Chicago, Illinois. I have have been babysitting (neighbors and family) since I was 12 years old and, for two years I was a nanny for a wonderful family in St. Charles. I love being around children and helping them to explore new things! I have always loved arts & crafts and music and being able to share that love is always a blessing. Living healthfully is something that is very important to me as well (healthy body = healthy mind) and I enjoy being active and eating well.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability
  • Before school care availability

Valid through 5/5/2018

Available
S M T W T F S
6-9a
Available
Available
Available
Available
Available
Available
Available
9a-12p
Available
Available
Available
Available
Available
Available
Available
12-3p
Available
Available
Available
Available
Available
Available
Available
3-6p
Available
Available
Available
Available
Available
Available
Available
6-9p
Available
Available
Available
Not Available
Available
Not Available
Available
9p-12a
Available
Available
Available
Not Available
Available
Not Available
Not Available
12a-6p
Not Available
Not Available
Not Available
Not Available
Not Available
Not Available
Not Available

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Jennifer F.

1/31/2018

I posted a job to provide back-up care for my son with less than 24 hours notice, and Shannon was among the first to respond. She promptly replied to a request for a phone interview, and called me at the time we agreed upon. We had a nice phone chat — she seems very responsible, and she immediately offered to put me in touch with the family she nannied for as a reference. **We did not end up hiring Shannon this time because we found someone who lives closer and is quite familiar with our neighborhood (the job was to pick my son up from school). However, I would definitely consider hiring her in the future if the opportunity comes up.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Social/Emotional
    • Autism
    • Bathing
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Photography

Attended College of DuPage

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Shannon's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now