Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Babysitter in Des Plaines, IL 60016

Meet Laura

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello, my name is Laura Porras I am 21 years of age. To begin with I would like to tell you a little bit about myself. I am Currently a college student studying to one day become a Wildlife Veterinarian. When I'm not at school some of the things that I like to do in my leisure time include spending time with my family, reading, or going for nature walks. Overall, I would say that I am a well educated family oriented girl that knows how to take on responsibility and care for others. That being said, I am here looking to obtain a position as a part-time baby sitter. The qualifications I posses are having experience with children ranging from ages 2-10 years of age. These children that I speak of are my nieces and nephews, so it is quiet frequent that I see them and care for them. Read more I consider it to be one of my talents to be able to calm them down when they become fussy by turning their frustrations into fun or happiness. For example, when the kids are upset that they cannot go outside on a day when it rains I suggest doing crafts like making jewelry for the girls, or building Legos for the boys. This way the kids still get to do an activity that is stimulating even thought they cant go outside. Although I do not posses any types of training or certifications I have taken human development classes as well as child psychology classes that have enlightened me both to the stages of childhood as well as the cognition of children.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Laura doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $10 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy

Education

Science

Attended Triton College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Laura's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now