Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Grayslake, IL 60030

Meet Janet

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

*After school care and transportation to activities and friends for 9&11 year old boys (laundry & tidying up) * Afternoon/evening nanny for 6 yr old boy on autism spectrum * Live-in caregiver for ALS patient 4.5 years * Nanny for 5 & 8 yr olds * Caregiver/ companion to 82 yr young woman * Nanny for 5, 8 & 10 yr olds for 2.5 years * Classroom teacher of preschool (2 yr olds), kindergarten, & 5th grade * Day care substitute director & accountant * K-3 librarian - Lake Forest SD#67 (4 years) * Middle School Library Director - Lake Bluff SD#65 (4 years) *Library Associate - Indian Trails Public Library, Wheeling, IL (5 years) * Single mother with 2 loving & successful , college-educated adult children

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 11/27/2015

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 09/23/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 11/28/2018

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/19/21

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

4

0

0

0

0

Kohei S.

9/25/2021

Victoria Z.

6/14/2019

Victoria Z.

6/6/2019

Amber R.

1/24/2015

We moved to Illinois and don't have the luxury of having family near by. Jan has watched our daughter multiple times now and we love her. My daughter gets so excited when we tell her Jan is coming to take care of her. She is trustworthy, personable, and hard working. She is worth every penny you pay. She helps my daughter clean her room during her visit and also helps around the house which is a plus for a working mom like me. We highly recommend her for child care because you can be at ease knowing your child is in good hands when you're gone.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$18-$50/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Spinal Cord Injury
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Repositioning
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Psychology & Elementary Education; School Library Media graduate school

Graduated Lake Forest College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Janet's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now