Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Park Ridge, IL 60068
  • 24 miles, will travel 5 mi

Meet Lauren

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi there! My name is Laurie and I have a Masters degree in Clinical Social Work from Loyola University Chicago. My specialization is in Child and Family Development. I just came back from the Peace Corps working with teenagers and children in the Dominican Republic. This experience led me to plan all sorts of games and activities for kids and I also led several full classes in the Dominican schools. Before Peace Corps, I had worked with youth in other professional settings. I babysat for two boys (ages 6 &9) from a Sitter City parent, created violence prevention workshops for high school youth, tutored elementary students, and facilitated a summer youth program in Mexico for ages 6-12. Working with youth is my passion and I'm looking to continuously develop my child development practice by serving as a professional sitter for Chicago families. Please note I am open on weekends and Read more evenings with one weekday free of my choosing. Other qualifications: Bilingual in English and Spanish. Child Mandated Reporter certified. Literacy Works Tutor certified. Master's of Clinical Social Work in Child and Family Development.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 03/18/2019

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 02/26/2019

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported


  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Before school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Lesley S.


Kc P.


Laurie was lovely- we’ve had her twice now and she is calm, patient and the kids love her. She is punctual and cleans up- I mean, above and beyond standard clean up. We wouldn’t hesitate to have her back again!

Clayton K.


Laurie was amazing. My son loves her and she goes above and beyond. Can’t say enough, will definitely use her again.

Christian V.


Laurie was great. She arrived on time and stayed much later than our expected time home which is greatly appreciated. She has a very calm and pleasant demeanor. We'd definitely book her again.

Sittercity Parent


Laurie was a lovely woman. I’d be happy to have her back.


Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)


MA Social Work, MA Women and Gender Studies

Graduated Loyola University of Chicago 2016


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Lauren's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now