Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 19 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Vernon Hills, IL 60061

Meet Katie

  • Speaks German
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi! I graduated from Drake University with a BS in psychology and I also have an associates degree in criminal justice. I currently live in Vernon Hills with my fiancé and my two dogs. I am vegan, and LOVE to cook healthy and colorful meals (I even cook my DOGS’ food! - not vegan, of course). I have CPR training, and have newborn and twin experience. I have been a childcare provider since I was 18, when I “nannied” my way through UIC and Drake, starting in Chicago watching twin toddler girls for almost 2 years from the time they were 16 months-3 years. They truly became a part of my family! I then nannied for over two years after transferring to Iowa for a family with two children. Over the last 6.5 years, I have spent my time between two wonderful families (over 6 years with one family, and 4 Read more years with the other). However, both families will no longer need my assistance as frequently during the summer as the kids have gotten older and will be attending camp full-time. I have been fully vaccinated since March 2021, and have continue to practice social distancing during COVID. I have a long history with multiple families in the area, working overnights, filling in when caregivers are on vacation, and working weekends, and can provide multiple references. I have always found that the families I work with truly become a part of my family, as I do theirs. The most rewarding benefit of being a nanny is having the ability to watch the children grow, and help them reach their goals. I am well-organized and have also worked as a home organizer, house manager, and mother’s helper. In my down time (while kids are at school, working on homework, etc.) I enjoy filling my time with meal prepping for the families that I am caring for, or even finding a messy closet to organize. I prefer to not sit children in front of screens, and try my best to provide engaging and interactive activities. I believe “fun” time should be spent doing arts and crafts, puzzles or being outside. I’m also a PRO at hide and seek.  

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired on 08/08/2014

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Expired on 08/08/2014

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • After school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Available to start on 4/8/2020
  • My availability is valid through 7/4/20

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

3

0

0

0

0

Stephanie B.

10/11/2010

Katie was able to fill-in at the last minute when our other sitter called-in sick. She arrived early, listened attentively and I came home to a cleaner house than the one I left. She was great and our son keeps talking about Katie!

Nell C.

11/1/2008

Katie responded to my job posting (one time per week sitter for my one year old son), and I was impressed with her diligence and follow through. She arrived to my house early, listened as I 'showed her the ropes' and watched my little one for a few hours in the afternoon. When I arrived home, it was clear that they played together and that he was in good hands. Katie followed up the next day with an email to say she enjoyed the experience and would like to sit for my us again. I truly appreciate her work as she is reliable and dependable!

Dedra A.

4/20/2008

Katie has watched my 6 year old son a couple of times and we have been absolutely pleased with her services. My son can hardly wait until we need her again. She makes great arts and crafts too. Very dependable!

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$16-$22/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome

Education

Psychology/neuroscience

Drake University

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • German

Share Katie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now