Sittercity home Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Michigan City, IN 46360

Meet Kathleen

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Since I was a child, I have loved babies and children, always wanted to be an elementary teacher, and would have been a librarian if the college I graduated from had the degree available. I have been a housemother at a children’s home for 4-6 children for two years, substitute taught for all grades, then became a mother for three, and a grandmother for 3 birthed and 4 adopted grandchildren. After being laid off in 2019 from a Purchasing position I became a Nanny for a professional family for their 4 month old daughter. She bonded like she was a grandchild and we had “Kathleen Adventures” three or four days a week for 9 months until Covid-19 hit hard. After that I continued to keep in contact with FaceTime twice a week. Because life has changed so much, my services are now not required, although I continue to stay in Read more communication with the family. The good news is that they have more time with their daughter than before. My care is given in a fun way, and I often find simple ways to promote learning with numbers, letters, sounds, and words, but I take the responsibility of supervising a child seriously. I am First Aid trained, including CPR and AED, and safety is important to me. I had a background check done last year and have a very clean driving record. (No tickets, ever.) My former employers will provide excellent references. They might share that we read stories, sang songs, took walks at the park, and watched for birds and squirrels. I cared for their child in the way that they asked to the very best of my ability and they treated me like I was family. Honesty and integrity are high on my list and dependability is important, as well. In the past I had the responsibility of closing/cashing out a grocery store two nights a week and money is not a temptation to me. I believe that I can provide great care and besides having fun, your son will learn and benefit educationally and socially. (I did get my Elementary Education degree and worked in the library while I was in college. )

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings and afternoons

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 9/16/20

Ratings & reviews

Kathleen doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$20-$22/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Social/Emotional
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Grooming and Hygiene

Education

Social Science

Spring Arbor University

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Kathleen's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now