Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 13 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in South Bend, IN 46637

Meet Katie

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

As far as I can remember, I've always loved being around children, being the one to look after them, etc. I started babysitting in my preteen years, and once I was in high school and could have a "real" job, I applied at a nearby daycare. There I had many educated, experienced mentors that really gave me the chance and room to grow in my position. Once I graduated high school, I found a full time position at a preschool. I moved around a bit, took some time off to travel with my husband, thanks to his job, and also took some time to raise my son who was born prematurely. Throughout allll of those years, I took early childhood education classes, elementary education class, special education classes, and now I'm finishing my bachelor's degree in Psychology and hope to get my Masters degree in ABA Therapy. My 5 year Read more plan is to end up back at an Autism center someday, in a higher up position. I have pretty consistently been CPR and First Aid Certified since 2005 when I had my first job. Thankfully I've never had to use it, but it is something that is very much seared in my memory. I'm hoping to find some occasional babysitting gigs here and there, to help pay for the extras in life...including but not limited to the expense of finishing my degree and raising my almost 11 year old son. I would love to chat with you if I sound like someone that might be a good, possibly long-term, but occasional babysitter for those date nights here and there. If you've made it this far, great! Thank you for reading about me :)

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Completed Enhanced Background Check Badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Completed 10/12/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Completed Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Completed 10/04/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Ratings & reviews

Katie doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Epilepsy
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Pervasive Development Disorder
    • Premature Newborn
    • Seizures
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Psychology

Indiana University East 2022

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Social studies

Share Katie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now