JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 30 years paid experience
  • Age 43
  • Babysitter in Mission, KS 66202

Meet Heidi

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! Hello! Let's see...I started babysitting when I was 10 years old. (I am 41 now) I did NOT think I would be looking for babysitting jobs again so late in life, but here we are! I just need money at the moment to get "by" for a very short time. I have been an art teacher, currently licensed in the state of Kansas, grades 6-12. I taught in Blue Valley for 6 years. I have taught in various districts as well...SMSD, Tonganoxie, KCKPS. Most recently I was a site coordinator working with kiddos in KCMO. I have a Daycare Director's license. I am CPR certified and background checked. I am divorced. I have an awesome 11 year old son and a pretty lazy 11 year old dog. :) I like kids! I am responsible, trustworthy, and will do what is right for children in any situation. Kids tend to Read more like me too. You do not need to worry having children in my care. I have been sooo fortunate that I have not ever needed a "stranger" to care for my son. I honestly do not know HOW you ever feel totally safe! BUT...I KNOW I am good with kids and you can put your mind at ease. And...I am "normal". I have a normal FB page, "normal" friends, shop at Target, no strange colors in my hair, and think the cartoon bears in the toilet paper commercial are blechh! Also, I have spent waaaay too much money on fidget spinners for a kid who loses them constantly. The same kid who gets too much screen time and I know it! (It's hard being a parent!) I'm not perfect, but I have common sense. I also know that SOMETIMES kids fib about things! So, if your kid tells me "my parents let me eat oreos for dinner, play "call of Duty" and I PICK my own bedtime" I MIGHT have reservations! I will not be going to sleep on the job. I mean, YOU are a stranger to ME too! I don't really want to sleep in a stranger's house. Weird. Your baby will not be sitting around getting diaper rash in a too full diaper. I will not let them fall off a changing table, leave them in a bath, or crazily get angry because HE/SHE IS A BABY. And does "baby" things! :) (which are the BEST! And go waay too fast) Will I eat all your food? I will be honest...most likely no. BUT if you have something super tasty that I haven't tried before, like a peanut butter Ho-Ho (they have those now!) I might cave, but I promise not to eat the whole box. :) Oh! And I will only babysit when my son is at his dad's, so no worries...I will not be bringing him or ANYONE ELSE with me.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Ratings & reviews

Heidi doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$100/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Art Education

University of Kansas

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Heidi's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now